Sketchbook Project 2013

Done it again! Signed up for 2013.

This year, I’m committed to graphite with a touch of white acrylic here and there to pick up what the eraser can’t.  It’s all about the values, and an other worldliness.  My  objective is to concentrate on basics; strengthening my compositions through black and white values, and giving my right brain a work out, but keeping it raw, (resisting the temptation to refine).    I’m also experimenting with different papers. I’ll  eventually paste the pages into the sketchbook.  I’m  reserving one color perhaps, to introduce  later on..maybe;)

Above are pages 2 and 3.  Lots more to come.

Published by elenacaravela

My world is a wonder of visual candy and foreboding shadow shapes vying every waking moment for my full attention.

Join the Conversation

36 Comments

  1. I’m impressed you’ve started your 2013 Art House project already! I’ve signed up too but I have a feeling my 2013 sketchbook – like my first three – will be posted with only minutes left to meet the postal deadline!

    I’ve never heard of liquid pencils. I’ll have to get hold of one. Can you let me know the make? Thanks.

    Ann

      1. Thanks for the info on Liquid Pencil. I’ll try and get hold of some here in the UK. Give it a whirl. I’m trying to find time to try a new drawing technique so a new drawing medium is good timing!

        Ann

  2. I am so inspired by you and your projects… Where’re my parchment and quill…

  3. Value studies are an excellent way to strengthen your painting technique. They’re absolutely essential. I don’t do them often enough, but when I did they usually served a good purpose in helping me plan the color choices.

  4. Elena, your images always transport me, in a wondrous way! 😀
    (BTW, thank you for the email several days ago… I’ve been quite busy too, totally understand, and will try to reply this week. Thanks so much!)

  5. these are such interesting sketches, the perspective along with the drawings themselves, beautiful, still has the raw look I think.

  6. Wow, this is so cool! It’s got kind of a renaissance vibe and the light values and textures are wonderful. I admit I tried to the Sketchbook for 2012 and it just wasn’t for me. (I think I did about 3 pages but decided I couldn’t commit the time. Alas!) Many kudos to you and everyone who finishes theirs!

      1. That is hard, I know. I have a tendency to keep working on mine even after I’m content with the basic sketch, so to let them go is almost a cathartic exercise. ^^