ART

FOR MOMS:

Most of us find ourselves facing an end and a beginning.  A transition, to be sure.  Approaching or experiencing a moment that comes round once a year: waving goodbye to our kids who are going back to school.

Our older kids, young adults really, have probably already used the  living room as a staging platform to gather enormous piles of “stuff” to pack into the car, to haul off to college.  The younger kids have probably already dragged you through  Staples to acquire candy colored school supplies and the requisite box of tissues.  Did you buy an extra box?

Are you letting loose with tears of joy because you are again able to reclaim the  house, or some structure in your life, or are you weeping because, there’s a place within your rib cage that feels both heavy and empty simultaneously?   Too difficult to tease apart?  Ah… I know.

This condition calls to me to fill and lighten my being.  My remedy is to create something.  Voila, this blog was born.  I intend to fill its pages with sketches and ideas for lofty projects. While our most beloved “creations” are away gaining a little more independence each day, I say, let’s create. A cake perhaps, a new company, a new resume, a chapter in that book you always wanted to write, a new exercise routine, a drawing, a song> sing a song, start a blog.

Of course, your days and evenings are already full, whether  the kids are home or not.  But..start fresh.  Just like the kids.  Make something new.  That’s what I’ll be doing right here. Making new art, for kids, but mostly for me.

I hope to find you here again to critique what I make, should you feel the urge.  Hopefully, some of this work may end up in a book or magazine that you’ll read to your kids, grandkids, students, or neighborhood kids.  Perhaps as early as next summer.  Please share your creations.  We already share a lot.  We’re moms.

Comments on: "FOR MOMS:" (7)

  1. Alane, ahh I know. I’m fortunate enough to enjoy the tradition of
    Taylor telling me about the event either before or sharing the memories
    of the day. Thinking of you.

  2. Funny I should come upon your blog at this moment! I not only 5 minutes ago, saw Taylor and Eliza off for there annual trek to the Renaissance fair. My heart was full as I helped them dress and adorn themselves as I have done for the past many years……A lovely tradition … And as I kissed them both I turned with a tear .. thinking to myself how happy I am to have had the opportunity to see another year of this tradition, and sad as I know by the morning they will again be gone to begin a new school year.

  3. Yes! The changing leaves seem to act as nature’s motivators!

  4. Jeanmarie said:

    I think I recognize that lioness! Great idea, why shouldn’t we start something new and exciting when the leaves start to turn.

  5. Trish Ollom said:

    You did it! You started a blog! 🙂

  6. Thanks Ann. Good to hear from you.

  7. Ann Sexton Lynch said:

    Love your creatures. I’m right there with you on the “Mom” emotions.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

