ART

Breeding Brooding Bunnies

In the interest of strengthening and varying my portfolio of illustration for children, I noticed a shortage of  joyful images in my book.  I browsed through Google images hunting for inspiration.  I found a photo of a group of happy children holding hands and racing round a circle in “ring around the rosy” fashion.  They certainly looked happy, so I took it as inspiration.  I put the inspiration aside, and happy children morphed into happy imaginary bunnies.

As the painting started to take shape, some of the bunnies began to take on more complex expressions.  Maybe there’s a fox or  an irate farmer stalking the warren.  An intruder threatening the lettuce stash?  Perhaps a territorial dispute.  Not so uniformly happy any more, but maybe a little more interesting?

Happy Bunny Sketch:

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

