ART

Oil Portrait Tutorial

Comments on: "Oil Portrait Tutorial" (46)

  1. Dear Elena, through life changes and moves I am picking up threads again and yours is a golden one. There is such loving energy and light in your creations…. ❤

  2. Wow. Loved seeing this from beginning to end. And the end was amazingly beautiful.

  3. Wow, thank you so much for posting this! I haven’t worked with oils in ages, but I love your style and look forward to learning much from you – best wishes, Leslee

  4. I keep coming back to this post and reading it. It is really informative and helpful !

  5. […] Elena Caravela: painter, illustrator, author, amazing… […]

  6. Simply marvellous.. Colour, texture , character, all marvellous. What a joy it must be to be able to produce work like this.

  7. Fantastic portrait! Great highlights; rich color, & such character in the subject! Thanks for sharing your technique.

  8. […] nominated me. Most of her posts are short, sometimes just a photo of her very interesting art, but this one I really liked. Oil Painting Tutorial is a post almost in the form of a personal instruction on the […]

  9. Franchesca Aviva said:

    Simply inspiring, I think I am going to paint today!

  10. This is so cool! Nice job! I’m an artist that does colored pencil and just starting (again) with pastels! Good job!

  11. This is quite awesome!
    Thank you for sharing this!

  12. Came over from Snoring Dog….Like your artwork.

  13. Wow so amazing and inspirational to me!

  14. You made it looks so easy, almost just click a camera = because you know all about,
    like your second nature which I can’t mimick. —– so, I settle with twisting a wire 😀

  15. Fascinating.

  16. bluemustang5 said:

    Really good post. I like.

  17. Ah….she’s gone back to paint! Don’t your eyes just love being in front of an easel? You’ve created a wonderful portrait full of light and life. The steps are great – hoping to see more!

  18. Wonderful tutorial! Lucidly explained with detailed pics of all stages of the process.
    A really lovely painting. Thanks.

  19. Littleskew said:

    Your painting is so beautiful, the detail and the movement is amazing; you have such a good eye! I love the step-by-step description and images you have, I will definitely be using your tips, so thanks for that 🙂

    Again, a very beautiful painting

  20. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    Gorgeous – you captured her in a priceless moment with grace and beauty. Wonderful handling of the medium! And how lucky your readers are to get this very useful tutorial!

  21. Thanks for sharing this process. I plan to share your blog with my 87-year-old mother who used to paint with oils. She will appreciate this even more than I do!

  22. Oh Elena, that is just a stunning portrait. She’s just oozing with personality and the light is gorgeous.
    I love that you shared the process. Can’t wait to see more!

  23. Heather Whitley Gibson said:

    This is a very well done overview; for x-mass; new colors are out –in cerileans, magentas, reds, colbalts…
    As you know there are hundreds of color wheels; I generally think less is better, but these are worth checking out–if you have not already. Also I sometimes bid on E-Bay–but stay on my toes writing down average prices before–hand helps, also you can buy outright 2-3 tubes of reds; this is cheaper and you can buy better grades of paint!

    Thanks for blogging!

  24. YAAY!!! Thank you thank you!!

  25. Great painting and a thorough and informative explanation of the painting process. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

