ART

I’ve been entranced with  the  3×3 Illustration Annual  since I first discovered it one Saturday in Barnes and Noble.  Naturally,  I sat with it in the B&N cafe enjoying the eye candy more than my beverage.  My book wish list is always lengthy, but I bumped book title #1 and bought the Annual.  Since then, I’ve poured over the work, and offer it to young artists to demonstrate what’s going on in contemporary illustration.

Summer 2011 I received an email from Charles Hively informing me that one of the illustrations I submitted was chosen for the 2012 Annual, and I was to send a final jpeg for print.  The email came at a tough time for my family and my attention was elsewhere.  I sent off a jpeg and later worried that I’d sent an inferior copy…(I aways have multiples and I’m not so great at labeling them-that’s gonna change).

A few days ago,  the book arrived.  And while I will never be entirely pleased with any piece I make, I am honored to be included in this publication.  I’m still not sure which copy I sent, probably not the best one, but  C’est la vie.

Thanks Charles Hively and the judges.  Right now, I’m burning to make a new piece to submit sometime in the near future.

Comments on: "3×3 Illustration Annual #8 -I’m In It!" (25)

  1. Scriptor Obscura said:

    When I saw this illustration, the first words that popped into my mind were “Space Cadet”. I love your artwork! You are truly an amazing artist, and I have really enjoyed looking through your artwork today! Keep up the excellent work! 🙂

  2. buddhafulkat said:

    That’s so cool – congratulations!

  3. Wow, that is such a fantastic thing! First, the painting is just mesmerizing. I think it’s those green eyes. Love the purple hair and that little doll with the striped stockings. Just wow. But congratulations on this, I can’t imagine how thrilling it must be. 🙂

  4. I knew this one was worth a much closer look! Wow, she is so impish and inspiring… If I had seen her as a kid, I think I would have felt so much better about being a girl! Awesome! (and best wishes for next year!)

  5. Oh, that’s one of my favorite illustrations of yours! Congratulations. SO proud for you!

  6. Littleskew said:

    Congratulations 🙂
    I love the illustration, the movement and the colours are brilliant!

    I ❤ your work 🙂

  7. Great news and well deserved!

  8. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    This is one of my favorites. I love it. So well done and the subject matter is divine!

  9. Congratulations. That must have been fun – even more so because you weren’t in place to hope or expect anything. It’s a great illustration, I just love the expression of the kid. So, yes, keep on submitting new pieces.

  10. This has always been one of my favorite Elena illustrations. Yes, keep submitting. Good luck on the next one.

  11. Of course! Richly deserved Elena- you are amazing.

  12. Oh that is wonderful Elena! And well deserved. Congratulations. 😀

  13. Fantastic, Elena!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

