ART

Intention

Intention began as an Illustration Friday prompt.   It didn’t take long to realize that what I was making was decidedly not an illustration. My intention-derailed.  I should back up and mention that Intention started as a watercolor, though not a good watercolor.   I scanned it and finished painting digitally.  So much for my initial intention.  Next, I felt that the white space fell flat.  I needed some texture, so I dug through photo textures I create for this purpose.  I’m always drawn to fabric, and there in the reference were three interesting images to layer over the painting. I couldn’t quite decide, so I created three versions.

Intention vs process:)

Comments on: "Intention" (14)

  1. elmediat said:

    Excellent! Art is an mixture of Intention, Process & Inspiration. Inspiration can occur at anytime. It may trigger intention or it may redirect the process towards a new/unintended outcome. The result can be moving and inspiring regardless of how the inspiration moved through the sequence of creation.
    This is a very well done composition, no matter what the starting intention may have been.

  2. Kellie See said:

    I really love this. The detail is incredible. I particularly like the ghostly quality about them….they appear so mysterious and dreamlike. I like how you combined the different layers. Really beautiful work.

    Kellie

  3. They have a marvellous calm quietness about them. Quite beautiful Elena

  4. Very beautiful Elena, the textures give it such delicate movement.
    I particularly like the gesture of the hand and the shadow, so elegant.

  5. awesome illustration

  6. These are so lovely, Elena! I think I like the one on the right “best”, because the background suggests someone’s back… Perhaps being turned from “intention”…? 😉
    Cheers, Leslee

  7. love the layers and the fabric!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

