ART

Facelift

It’s been many years since I’ve worked on a self portrait.  It was time.  I’ve decided on a limited series, in order  to experiment.  This first oil painting is pretty straight forward, but distortions abound.   It’s a manual facelift. 

Here’s the progression.  The changes in expression are awfully funny, (at least to me).  I’ve used lots of glazes via Gamblin Neo Megilp with my oil paint.

Comments on: "Facelift" (39)

  1. Wonderful portrait! I like the images you took that show your process.

  2. Here’s a stupid question from a fellow artist: did you have to put your brush (and palette?) down before looking in the mirror at your image so physically manipulated? If not, how did you do this self-portrait? I am particularly sensitive to the pitfalls of getting one’s own likeness by staring intently (if not fiercely) into a mirror.

  3. Eon Reed said:

    Wow. It’s absolutely amazing. The colors… The expression… Very beautiful.

  4. I love that you photograph the process Elena, such lovely brown eyes 🙂 and sorry I’ve been tardy in commenting.. wasn’t able to access my reader on here for days..

  5. thoroughly detailed painting! you are blessed with an astounding talent. looking forward for more portraits.

    cheers!

  6. Wow, that’s an outstanding portrait! Really cool to see one that isn’t just a plain old hint of a smile and sitting primly. Such beautiful colors in the skin. I’d like to start acrylics or oils but can’t decide which (and don’t want to buy a setup for both!) Probably acrylics, a bit easier to work with and I think my impatience with oils drying would be a killer. On the other hand, maybe a good opportunity for some practice in patience. Hmm. 🙂

    • Thanks much Cindy! You have such a marvelous command over your material set that I think transferring your skill to acrylic might be fun for you. The drying time IS a bit trying in oils, that’s why I work in so many different ways…I’m waiting for my oils to day;)

  7. Exquisit, as always. 🙂

  8. elmediat said:

    Excellent art work. I have mornings that started out like that. 🙂

  9. wonderful, elena… congrats

  10. It’s a great painting – and as drawandshoot says so full of life and spirit. I love to see the process of transformation. It’s just amazing how each layer adds more details and definition. Manual facelift? What a great idea.

  11. Wow…That was a really cool progression. came out well.

  12. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    Beautiful work, elena! You’ve inspired me. I’ve been toying with the idea of doing portraits for a while now. Love your work!

  13. Great painting and the stages of progress are so interesting.

  14. Thanks for showing us that progression. Very informative–and great to see the layers that this painting went through!

  15. Elena, you are an immensely accomplished and sensitive artist – I am struggling to decide what you are trying to say about yourself. OK, I know you’re having fun, but what message would you hope I pick up?

    • Oh, thank you Louis. I’m having fun, poking at the aging process. I haven’t worked on a self-portrait in over 30 yrs., so I’m thinking about mortality, and making the most of life. In this particular case, I’m playing with gravity;)

  16. artblablablablog said:

    Your work is amazing! I love the progression pictures, remarkable.

  17. Kellie See said:

    Excellent painting. I love the eyes in particular.

  18. Wow, you are such an amazing painter, Elena! there is so much life and spirit in this painting. Very interesting to see the progression. A bit like..Pause…

  19. But at the end the result is amazing… Wonderful painting… I loved it. You are beautiful artist dear Elena,… Thank you, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

