ART

Done it again! Signed up for 2013.

This year, I’m committed to graphite with a touch of white acrylic here and there to pick up what the eraser can’t.  It’s all about the values, and an other worldliness.  My  objective is to concentrate on basics; strengthening my compositions through black and white values, and giving my right brain a work out, but keeping it raw, (resisting the temptation to refine).    I’m also experimenting with different papers. I’ll  eventually paste the pages into the sketchbook.  I’m  reserving one color perhaps, to introduce  later on..maybe;)

Above are pages 2 and 3.  Lots more to come.

Comments on: "Sketchbook Project 2013" (36)

  1. […] Sketchbook Project 2013 (elenacaravela.wordpress.com) Share this:FacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  2. […] Sketchbook Project 2013 (elenacaravela.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Kellie See said:

    I agree with Cindy D , It has that “renaissance vibe” . Its lovely.

  4. I’m impressed you’ve started your 2013 Art House project already! I’ve signed up too but I have a feeling my 2013 sketchbook – like my first three – will be posted with only minutes left to meet the postal deadline!

    I’ve never heard of liquid pencils. I’ll have to get hold of one. Can you let me know the make? Thanks.

    Ann

  5. Eon Reed said:

    I am so inspired by you and your projects… Where’re my parchment and quill…

  6. interesting and inspiring. When I grow up I want to be an artist…oh, I guess I’m an artist with words…

  7. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    Value studies are an excellent way to strengthen your painting technique. They’re absolutely essential. I don’t do them often enough, but when I did they usually served a good purpose in helping me plan the color choices.

  8. I like the raw. I can imagine you’re just itching to get in there and refine it. It has such a fresh power about it now.

  9. Love it, love it, love it.. I’m really looking forward to more of these Elena 😀

  10. This is obviously an exciting project. I hope we can glimpse the progress from time to time. Good luck.

  11. This is really cool! What was the inspiration?
    I think I’m going to sign up for the Project. It looks like so much fun!

    • Good question-the inspiration was looking through my “inspiration” folder and kinda melging images and then they change again as I work.
      You should do it!

  12. Elena, your images always transport me, in a wondrous way! 😀
    (BTW, thank you for the email several days ago… I’ve been quite busy too, totally understand, and will try to reply this week. Thanks so much!)

  13. artblablablablog said:

    these are such interesting sketches, the perspective along with the drawings themselves, beautiful, still has the raw look I think.

  14. Wow, this is so cool! It’s got kind of a renaissance vibe and the light values and textures are wonderful. I admit I tried to the Sketchbook for 2012 and it just wasn’t for me. (I think I did about 3 pages but decided I couldn’t commit the time. Alas!) Many kudos to you and everyone who finishes theirs!

  15. sounds interesting and exciting… Fascinates your project, always. Thank you dear Elena, Good Luck, I loved it. Thank you, with my love, nia

  16. Stunning, as always! Looking forward to see more!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

