ART

Smudging

Sketchbook pages 5-6 graphite on block printing paper

To smudge or not to smudge.. three schools of thought, I think..

Some are opposed to using a finger or an implement to blur and fill with graphite, feeling that it’s a muddy and lazy process.  Others feel it’s the only way to modulate values.  Still others don’t make judgements about the do’s and dont’s of  technique.  Clearly,  I feel comfortable in the last camp;)

Comments on: "Smudging" (25)

  1. Ahhh … but there’s a certain smug purity to be be gained from joining either of the first two … I’m with you in the third camp 🙂

  2. Littleskew said:

    Brilliant sketch; I love it!

  3. Kellie See said:

    I love the octopus, its fantastic. I am currently working with charcoal and I am finding it a bit of a struggle to get the smudging and blending just right. Most of the time it looks a complete mess. You have totally mastered it though, it looks great as always :). Thanks for sharing.

  4. Wow I love your drawings, they’re amazing! Thank you for sharing them and for your appreciation in my blog! Have a nice day!
    Artphalt (http://artphalt.wordpress.com)

  5. I love the concept of the drawing. The girl in the background is very cool!

  6. Wow! SO much going on in this picture!! I don;t know a thing about smudging–but this would be a great writing prompt!

  7. Nice drawing. i would be in the no smudging school of thought but sometimes I’m truant and smudge anyway.

  8. artblablablablog said:

    gorgeous smudging elena! the others clearly just don’t know how to do it right 😉

  9. I’d always assumed that smudging is a common practice used discreetly by most artists. I’ll be a bit more observant in future!

  10. I am also comfortable in the last camp. Will there be marshmallows? 😀 So, that running (or flying) girl is just beautiful. And then I was marveling at the octopus legs, not even realizing there was another girl under there! I hope it is a friendly relationship! She does not appear to be struggling so I will try not to worry. She looks adorable in her little dress and boots with her hair blowing. This whole drawing is just magical.

  11. Whatever you’re doing technique-wise, it’s working out splendidly from the results! Love the tentacles and hair…and dress. Billowy movement well-communicated.

  12. Eon Reed said:

    I really love this one…it was even more awesome because it surprised me. I saw the Octopus and a lot of tentacles, it wasn’t until I looked at it more closely that I saw the girl it was wrapped around…that was a cool “surprise moment”. Very beautiful this one. Very.

  13. It’s a nice drawing. I like it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

