ART

Dreamswim

                                                                                     Sketchbook Project 2013       White charcoal on Canson Mi Teintes paper

I’ve little idea about how this drawing came into my head and out my fingers, but I as I was working, the feeling/drawing began to lean toward the precipice where fun begins a gradual drop- off  and changes into something a little scary…

Comments on: "Dreamswim" (38)

  1. I am glad I subscribed to your blog. I love the variety of posts and the amazing range and output of your visual work! I always look forward to see what you have sent me each time I open my email. Amazing creativity.

  2. looks like a human pellet surrounded by hungry fish. it creates such a mysterious ambience since the face is all smiles. keep up the good work!

  3. You are amazing dear Elena, I loved it. Thanks and love, nia

  4. I relate totally to the ‘scary’ interpretation. The drawing has distinct sculptural qualities, almost like a wood carving, which seem to emphasize the relationship/tension between the face and the fish.

  5. Wow…beautiful

  6. It is definitely a little scary, but I love the charcoal sketch. The expression is quite stunning and the pictures is very open for interpretations. I think part of what draws me to the picture is the tension between the girl who seem to be so scared and then the fishes caressing and in contrary to her expression seem very nice even loving. Or maybe that’s just the way fishes look like? (And by the way sorry for having been absent lately, I just haven’t had time to comment the last couple of weeks).

  7. Oh yes, it’s teetering on the edge. I love the tension in it.

  8. WOW, that’s a striking piece, Elena! Great job!

  9. Nice drawing; only scary if fish are Piranhas.

  10. amazing sketch!

  11. I can almost hear it. It is simply amazing !

  12. I don’t like that dream.
    Funny, I have a picture in my queue to post of fish swimming in patterns very similar to your sketch (minus the face of course) and I thought of it as dreamy too … just haven’t yet found the words to go with it yet 🙂

  13. yes scary. but incredible that you conveyed so much emotion in this drawing!

  14. It’d be even creepier if the fish had teeth instead of the girl. Only our waking dreams are those beautiful soft-focus things…sleep brings out the conflicts in us.

  15. I have to say that I just love your sketches 🙂 This one is definitely on the eerie side. I wonder whether it would be just as eerie without the fish.

  16. Oh! I really like the black paper with white pencil on it! And the texture of the paper works really well with the sketch.

  17. Whoa that is a bit scary! A great face, but a bit of a creepy one. I am totally in love with that fish on the right, though. I don’t know that I’ve ever called a fish’s face “sweet” before, but that one is totally sweet! Really lovely job with all the fish.

  18. Hi, Elena! Did you recently share an early version of this face, perhaps peeking around another sketch? If not, I think I saw it in a dream! It is oddly familiar…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

