ART

Space Invasion

Sketchbook Project 2012                                Graphite

Up to you, how to see this one.

Comments on: "Space Invasion" (24)

  1. I have always love the expressive texture of graphite. And this you have used to its utmost in this drawing. I simply love the playfulness of the figures and the composition. What is it about? I sense sorrow in the attitude of the women to the right. Maybe it’s the burden that falls upon here while the man is out playing for fun?

    • Hi Otto! I was thinking oppression, thoughtlessness, an attitude which is self-serving in both a judgmental and non-judgemental way. Anytime at all when one’s space is invaded.. a country, a pregnancy, an overbearing indivudual, suburban sprawl, or even an alien invasion;)

  2. Very interesting! A lot of things that catches the eye. Like it alot!

  3. Littleskew said:

    Do you know the song by Kate Bush ‘This Woman’s work’, this came to mind whilst looking at your picture

    “I know you have a little life in you yet.
    I know you have a lot of strength left.

    I should be crying, but I just can’t let it show.
    I should be hoping, but I can’t stop thinking”

    Very powerful drawing, it’s wonderful

  4. Remarkable how many stories can be drawn (arr arr!) from a single sketch. The figure with the hammer hands and feet resonates with me most I think … it’s how I imagine my mind feels during a migraine. Not that your picture gives me one of those 🙂

  5. Struggle, pressure, release, connection. Even a bit of tenderness. It breathes with real life.

  6. I like the drawing, but can’t think of anything witty to say.

  7. The female image suggests a young mother with no space to be herself. She is constantly having to satisfy the demands of an excessively dependent child and a noisy, rawcous male partner/husband. The tightness of the frame suggests she feels penned in and sees little opportunity for breaking free. The downward cast of the eyes confirm a certain air of resignation.

  8. …in many many many ways! 🙂

  9. like this a lot – it’s open – my favorite kinds

  10. WOW! This is so beautiful… and talking about inner power… I agree with Cindy D,… You are amazing artist dear Elena, Thank you, love, nia

  11. Oh my goodness. Well, it looks like some kind of emotional struggle to me. I think it’s either 1. her childhood self trying to help her push against the obstacles in her path, or 2. it’s her own child, and she is trying to be the protector as her child grows up, but she has to learn to let go and let her child find his/her own way. The mother-child dynamic is really nicely represented. (Even if that’s not what it is lol) 😉

  12. Jane Thorne said:

    Oh Elena, so many ways..very interesting piece x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

