ART

Watercolor Wed.12

I’m pushing a little farther into watercolor world with a figure + back round.  While I’m not absolutely thrilled with the outcome, I’m sort of pleased that I’m getting braver with the medium. Frankly, there are still a few stumbling blocks for me.

Over -noodling is certainly a problem . I sometimes don’t know when to leave well enough alone. Case in point is the water. I’ve no experience with watercolor water, so it’s a real challenge.

I also tried a touch of liquid frisket on the leaves of the weeds to try and create a little dimension. Eh-I’ve a long way to go if I choose to move into serious watercolor landscape. And while I know that I should make it my next big challenge, I have trouble finding landscape painting as exciting as painting faces and figures. I’ll be fighting that one out with myself. Don’t know if landscapes will win;)

Comments on: "Watercolor Wed.12" (21)

  1. I think your painting is beautiful. I love the way the sunllight reflects on the boy’s hair and shirt. The background grasses are perfect and reflect movement. Regarding your sense of “noodling”…my watercolor teacher told me to “place the painting it in the trunk of my car, close the trunk, and walk away from it”. I always thought this was funny, but she makes a point. It’s so tempting to rework.

  2. Great composition and well used negative space. You’re progressing with every watercolour painting.

  3. artblablablablog said:

    I think you noodled and watered beautifully, and I think he looks awesome, very bold to put the red on the leg for shadow, I absolutely love it!

  4. I think the water turned out just fine. He’s lovely.

  5. I can feel that water washing over my feet…It feels good!!

  6. All that foliage makes it look like he is really deep in the wilderness. Of course, it could be one of those wildernesses that is a stone’s throw from a busy highway. One never knows! I do think the frisket did a good job adding depth. And I know that water is hard! Clearly you know what kinds of colors and ripple shapes you need. The water looks great to me! Hooray for being brave. 🙂

  7. I’m not a painter (as you know) and I don’t really feel qualified to comment on your painting, nevertheless I’m going to! I think you’re an excellent portrait painter in oils, but you have great difficulty in leaving your oil painting techniques behind you when you produce watercolour portraits – there is a tendency to overwork (‘noodle’) and loose the transparency essential to watercolour work. Although landscape is not your natural subject area I think you might find it easier to explore and master watercolour technique in less familiar territory. There can be a temptation (hard to resist) to make a watercolour portrait resemble an oil equivalent. [Please excuse me Elena.]

    • No, you are absolutely correct. I fight the urge to layer. That’s exactly the reason I put off watercolor all of my life. I’m finding it’s more a way of thinking than simply learning a new technique. When it’s loose and drippy, it resembles an oil underpainting, which makes me happy. Thinking and planning in transparency, not being able to change my ideas or my mind is excruciatingly difficult for me. That’s the challenge.

  8. If elements of place (landscapes) help to describe, define, and tell more of the stories you are expressing with your figures and faces, they will no longer be alien content and will yield their mysteries to you. Those bits of environment that position, place, and frame your figures and faces will be parts of those people’s stories, which you are already so proficient at telling. When those elements of place do not enhance the telling of your stories about the people, just leave them out. Less is more. I am truly enjoying getting to see your work and am amazed at your discipline and productivity.

  9. The landscape and the figure are in harmony.

    (This was me yesterday, wading in the water…)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

