ART

Watercolor Wed.13

Watercolor Landscape my way.

I became so frustrated working traditionally with watercolor landscape, that I decided to make the experience mine and make peace with the fact that I don’t have the time/energy/interest in making it work.

You can see the progression below including a quick and dirty Photoshop intervention.   Still no masterpiece, but decidedly more me.

Comments on: "Watercolor Wed.13" (48)

  1. wow. step by step explained. thank you.

  2. Very well done. Thanks for posting the process. 🙂

  3. I like this; it has a wonderful “wildness” to it! ( Captures an un-tamed landscape very well.)
    Lots of “movement” & nice texture.

  4. Great textures and colours – masking fluid is wonderful ! Another great post ! Well done : ) }

  5. Elena, I learn more from your postings than anywhere else. Thank you! Seeing the progression of your thinking is so helpful. I really love painting #3 with the bold whites of the trees. Someday I will plan to take a class in photoshop.

    • I’m so pleased to know that I’m passing something of value along. I learn so very much from bloggers too. Photoshop is a wonderful thing. I basically taught myself. But an exciting tool for sure. Thank you for your lovely comment!

  6. I’m most impressed, great work!

  7. You did this with Photoshop? I am flabbergasted! My skill level is zero.

  8. This is like a painting class!!!! I love as well the third one…There is something special on it!!!

  9. So cool! I’ve never really understood what masking fluid’s for, but now I totally get it. Great job!

  10. Fascinating transmutations and variations.

  11. WOW! So exciting and also inspirational. I loved it dear Elena, Thanks and Love, nia

  12. It was lovely seeing some of your process, I really enjoyed your post. 🙂

  13. You are too hard on yourself. This is spectacular!

  14. I lik very much the third. it’s very lively. I think it is important to invent your ways to do what you want and let the things happen ; surprise surprise… 😆

  15. artblablablablog said:

    Whatever it takes! I think in the end this worked beautifully elena.

  16. foresterartist said:

    It’s great seeing your progression. Love it.

  17. You have a such masterful command of a very full compliment of tools and media. It is great fun, and very instructive, to see how you combine them all to achieve your finished images. I really do look forward to your posts. I am grateful that you are so generous and disciplined with your postings.

  18. Holy cow, I’ve never actually seen someone else’s application of masking fluid. So cool! (Also wow, how do you get it off? I use a rubber nubby-type eraser, or sometimes my finger.. and sometimes it rubs off paper with it ugh. If I’m careful it’s *usually* fine.)

    Spectacular mix of Fall colors. I like the path that meanders off. And of course I would like to take the path and see where it goes. 🙂

  19. I like these a lot, especially the third and fourth – they’re vital and restless, and I like the colours too.

  20. Strangely, I like a dry tension in the 3rd (white), rather than calmer, warmer last one.
    Last one might be more realistic though, if I need real, I would go to the place.

  21. Thanks for sharing the progression. very cool!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

