ART

Waiting For Sandy

It’s a very odd feeling. Kinda feels like waiting for the end of the world. Sandy, the hurricane-megastorm, predicted last week, has been blowing about my mental radar for many days. At first, I discounted Sandy as media hype and hoped she would just turn herself out to sea. When it became clear that she was indeed stopping by this way, I went into planning/action mode and prepared. That was yesterday morning. ย This AM the sky is dark and bright at the same time. The winds are certainly threatening, there’s a sprinkling of rain and the barometric pressure feels oppressive. But, nothing more until perhaps, tonight.

I’m writing this post in a strange haste, feeling as though the power might go out at any time and this might be my last sentence or the last couple of minutes to post before the cable blows down or the power blinks off. Wierd.

I’ve no idea if and when Sandy will make me think better of this post, but I know two things so far; she’s making me think about my life’s conveniences and relative safety in a way that only happens when one is threatened with the loss of those things and alternately, she’s gathering away my energy and attention from ย the work I need to do now, because there is not yet a mess to clean up or an emergency to deal with.

At this moment there’s only a mild foreboding, wasted time watching wet newscasters yammer on and drifting to the windows to stare. Best get something done. I am no longer able to type anyway, because one of my cats is so clingy that he insists upon sleeping on my keyboarding hands. I wonder what he knows…

Comments on: "Waiting For Sandy" (50)

  1. Oh, this one is so full of life…she speaks so many different things…beautiful, thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. exiledprospero said:

    Why do I hear George Delerue’s soul-piercing score when I look at this sensational portrait? Perhaps because there is a resemblance between your heroine and Camille (JLG’s Contempt)?

  3. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    Gorgeous watercolor again! Be safe and well.

  4. Ooooo this is such a marvellous painting Elena.. it shows just the right tone of worry…Keep safe.. and work can wait!

  5. It’s a beautiful painting Elena, I hope you and she were untouched by Sandy.

  6. Very moving painting. I love it! Hunker down and stay dry out there!

  7. Wow. You pack a lot into a painting. In addition to simply admiring the troubled beauty of it, I find myself trying to figure out how to channel the inspiration it triggers. Take care.

  8. My prayers are with you elena, this sucker is huge! Incredible watercolor btw in your panic you also do beautiful work, emotional and great hair. Good luck my friend. xoxo

  9. This painting of yours is one of my favorite. It’s truly stunning and I’m grateful you’ve shared it with us. I hope you and your family/friends where you are make it through this storm safely. Please take care.

  10. Beautiful painting , Elena! The feelings are so intense through the colours. Great!

  11. take care, elena!

  12. Portrait of painting, I like very much. Congratulations, dear Elena!
    Big hugs, Love, Stefania! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. very beautiful, the colors are very expressive, the feelings are so intense.My thoughts are with you and I wish you to be safe. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Very striking: such vivid emotion and movement. Best wishes to you during the storm.

  15. Elena, thank you for sharing your anxieties with us. Our thoughts are very much with you through this difficult time. The painting is exceptional. In this context the hair and the eyes speak volumes.

  16. Beautiful post…the ambiguity, the unknown, the whispiness of it all is a genuine element of life all the time. How often we try to nail down those waves and breezes. Be aware, be well.

  17. Beautiful painting that conveys a lot of emotion and the foreboding feeling you expressed in your post. Here in my neck of the woods there’s still only a moderate amount of wind and rain, but the temperature has dropped significantly. It’s 10:42; the big event is predicted to begin in just about an hour. I feel apprehensive as well. Stay safe, everyone.

  18. This is a double awesome post…not only is the watercolor amazing…the movement in the hair is beautiful and her expression looks like she feels something different every time I look at her. The other to the double, is your actual post. I thought it was written very much like a hurricane…fast, twisting and yet with moments when the wind pauses. The ending was my favorite. Oh kitty, what do you know?

    Stay safe!

  19. Beautiful painting! I love the hair and partially covered face! Is this Sandy the storm given human form? It’s definitely got a bit of a foreboding feeling, some apprehension or disquiet.

    Stay safe! I moved away from Florida a few years back and though it’s not supposed to hit that far south, it is times like these that make me glad I am away from the coast. Don’t go quiet too long or your blog pals shall worry!

    • Thanks Cindy:) The only way I’ll stop blogging is lack of power;) Funny, the model is a friend and she posed for a digital piece I’m painting for “Autumn”. One of the shots looked like a metaphor for the storm, even the coloring is “Sandy”. The only difference is that the real life young woman is sunny and lovely.

  20. Thinking of you and your family, Elena.
    So much emotion in that gorgeous painting.
    Be safe.

  21. Thanks for your personal thoughts. I hope you are spared the worse–but this picture shows how you and others are feeling!

  22. amberafrica said:

    I admire your work so much !
    Keep safe ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

