ART

Sandy’s Wake

Just about one week after Sandy’s appearance, clean up and power restoration is underway.  My town fared pretty well but as you can see, there’s lots to do. Schools are still closed, power not completely restored.

While out searching for an open/operating gas station, I was able to shoot these pics around my town and neighboring towns. The last two shots are a clean-up truck and line-up to fill- up with gasoline.

Comments on: "Sandy’s Wake" (46)

  1. artblablablablog said:

    Wow! Surreal power, trees snapped off like nothing, scary photos, so glad it skipped you!

  2. It never does to forget the power of nature.. good that you are Safe Elena

  3. exiledprospero said:

    Oh, what destruction. Unfortunately, living on an island, I know all about the ravages of wind and sea. I hope that conditions on the east coast improve quickly.

  4. I did not know it is so impressive and incredible, I’m glad you are safe.

  5. Not much we can build or grow that will withstand mother nature when she loses her temper! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Wow, these photographs really demonstrate the force of Sandy, I’m glad you are okay.

  7. Minus the snow, it reminds me of our October 13th storm a few years back, and Hugo as well, during a different lifetime of mine – stay safe, keep warm!

  8. From the pics it looks like you took a harder hit than we in Virginia did, although I live in a rural area with much room between houses and businesses, so the damage js harder to spot. My entire family weathered the storm without damage. We are so blessed. Glad to hear you fared well, too.

  9. I am glad to read you are safe. And good luck in getting back to normal after Sandy’s rampage.

  10. Thanks for giving the insider’s perspective Elena. We’re delighted to hear you’re coming through relatively unscathed.

  11. Reminds me of what it looked like in Charlotte after Hurricane Hugo–about 20+ years ago. Thanks for posting.

  12. Good to hear you’re okay. I hope things are back to normal before long.

  13. Glad you’re safe, it seems like it’s gonna be a while before things get back to normal. I know many friends who are still with no power.

    I must say that while this was devastating, it showed so much love and compassion from people helping each other. It’s refreshing to see the good that comes out of the bad..

  14. Elena, my dear, I’m so sorry for Sandy hurricane disaster in your town! But also I’m so glad that you’re good! I hope mark Sandy, disappear as soon as possible!
    Have a wonderful day, dear Elena! Big hugs, much love, Stefania! 🙂

  15. So glad that you weathered the storm……just shocking to see the images….I hope all is somewhat closer to normal for you soon!

  16. Wow, Elena! So glad you’re safe, and best wishes for things to smooth out as quickly as possible for as many as possible! Sending you love, Leslee

  17. Glad to hear you made it through as well as you did! Maybe some community spirit will come back out in some of these places. I think we’ve lost most of our community spirit in this country with people glued to their phones, computers and tvs so much! But there’s nothing like some downed trees and neighbors and need that can bring out the good in folks. 🙂

    • Cindy, pleased to report that most people are helpful and generous. The problem from my perspective is driving. Most of the traffic lights are out on our very busy streets, and there are those who just plow on and don’t stop or wait. It’s an adventure.

  18. I am glad to hear that you are fine dear Elena, your photographs showing how bad it was. Thank you, love, nia

  19. Sorry for the suffering…and hoping the tree trunks in the dumpster actually get cut up for firewood. I hear heat’s going to be very important very soon!

  20. Wow, still lots to do is right!

  21. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    Glad you’re okay, elena! Hang in there. I really admire the courage and patience of people going through this disaster. It is incredibly heartbreaking to hear the stories of sadness and loss. I wish I could be there to help – I’ll donate some more to the Red Cross instead.

  22. Thank you for sharing these images. Nothing like nature to put life in perspective.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

