ART

Vision

bVisionfinishsmprint

I woke up with an image reflected on my retinas. I had an overwhelming urge to realize the vision.  It had to be dreamy-loose but also had to adhere to my vision.

I began with a watercolor sketch, but the color was too vibrant.  It needed to be somber. I took a photo of the watercolor and opened it up in Photoshop, then decided to desaturate it.  I painted a very simple back round so the bird-girl takes the spotlight.  A new series is born.

The watercolor sketch:

bbird

Comments on: "Vision" (65)

  1. settleandchase said:

    Elena, this is incredible! So light – fantasy and yet almost human and believable…innocent and yet not at all..a wonderful effect..

  2. Vibrant and surreal!!

  3. The black and white final image is so fully realized. The figure seems at once to have volume, but also to be almost vaporous. If you’ll forgive my projecting; it reminds me of my own dreams of flight: they are as frighening and frustrating as they are exhilerating. You are the queen of the complex emotional facial expressions.

  4. I like the vibrant little bird girl….taking flight to reach her dreams!!! Though she does look a little scared, but then aren’t we all…when we take our first “leap of faith”?
    The first one is more “serious”…sombre like you said…I really like the coloured one though 😀

  5. I like the b&w. Am so impressed that you woke up with this image!!

  6. I love the somber mood of the B&W version.

  7. Wonderful editing! The before and after is striking and I love the outcome.

  8. full of pathos, he feels like a sign of the times

  9. Such a tender little bird girl, I love her little worried face, what is she thinking of?

  10. Brings to mind Peter Pan, Tinkerbell …. What wonderful realms of fantasy you evoke!

  11. This is brilliant Elena!!! I love the girls’ wings, but her feet – wow, they haunt me.

    Congratulations on realizing your dreamy image into a new series, you are incredibly talented. Can’t wait to see where you take the whole concept and series!

  12. Love it! The black and white effect is brilliant!

  13. OMG…I am so in LOVE with her!!!!

  14. Eerie yet cool – so cool!

  15. This is so weird and wonderful and wrong and right at the same time – you took childhood awkwardness and gave it wings. I love it.

  16. artblablablablog said:

    Just cool as Hell! What do you suppose her thoughts are?

  17. it’s more dramatic in black and white, very impressive. 🙂

  18. So ethereal!

  19. Wow! What an excellent image Elena. Your talent never fails to amaze me. 🙂

  20. Very beautiful pictures, dear Eleana! I like both very much! You have a very creative imagination!
    Thank you for sharing!
    Have a wonderful day and many blessings!
    With much love, Stefania! 🙂

  21. Your creative mind works even in sleep too… This is amazing illustration, I loved both of them. Thank you dear Elena, love, nia

  22. I can’t describe the feeling that this image conjures. It is tumultous and withdrawn at the same time. Well done Elena.

  23. Wonderful. Wouldn’t be the same with color.

  24. I like how her toes look like vestiges of roots are still clinging there…perhaps that describes the ambiguous look in her eyes…to be ripped from earth and take to the skies…how does that feel?

  25. exiledprospero said:

    When the child was a child
    It walked with its arms swinging,
    wanted the brook to be a river,
    the river to be a torrent,
    and this puddle to be the sea.

    When the child was a child,
    it didn’t know that it was a child,
    everything was soulful,
    and all souls were one…..

    Peter Handke – Wings of Desire

  26. I prefer the print – especially the transformation of the facial features and body shape.

  27. Whoa! I can’t decide if it’s more sad or more creepy! But seriously cool and emotive either way. An orphan of the skies perhaps? Those feet are amazing!

  28. Awesome. She is very mysterious…
    Ominous

  29. Fascinating and mysterious. Very nice!

  30. I adore this, Elena! Especially the final transformation. She looks vulnerable and awkward like a fledgling, and so beautiful.
    A new series, how exciting – what a great vision.

  31. arjun bagga said:

    Incredible illustrations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

