ART

New Bird-Child

b3-7*nest

I’m still thinking on this one while working on three more.  But, this one is closest to finish and I wanted to share it with you.

Comments on: "New Bird-Child" (46)

  1. Having seen the previous pieces in this series, and the next one, as well, what makes this one extra-special is the girl’s feathery body.

  2. SO SO GOOD! I’m in awe … and so very happy to be following you! 🙂

  3. So cool! I love the nest structures, and the second tiny bird child. The main figure is very mesmerizing! She looks so serious and determined. Love it!

  4. She’s beautiful, Elena. I love the nests and the small bird child near the top of the painting.

  5. settleandchase said:

    Such an air of determination about this little bird-child – her coiled spells around her…maybe…!

    • elenacaravela said:

      Thanks! I was def. after that feeling of determination-vulnerable but with purpose.

  6. Incredible artwork and a wonderful imagination Elena. Superb!

  7. OMG Elena this is an incredible vision coming to life, wonderful that you are sharing with us. Your creativity astounds me, I’m overwhelmed with the scene. As she unfolds her “feather-weight” wings and gangly legs from the cozy nest she enjoys, one sees her grace coming forward as she lingers and floats toward the view below. Is she a good species or a dangerous vision of what’s to come?

    • I’m not sure which way it will go;) Still working. I so appreciate your kind comments Mary. You know how it is, we work in isolation, and that’s good, but it’s also great to have feedback. Thank you!

  8. Stefania said:

    Very interesting painting, dear Elena!
    Thank you for sharing!
    Have a wonderful day! 🙂

  9. Love it!!!

  10. Wow, this one is my favorite so far. The vine-like formation behind the child is an awesome addition.

  11. AWESOME !!!! 😀

  12. There seems to be a lot going on here. In the top left corner one bird seems to have flown the nest, but what intrigues me is that just below that bird and a little to the right is what appears to an eye viewing the happenings. In fact, the contorted shape of the flower stem creates distinct facial features – eyebrow, nose, mouth etc. But then …. I’m rambling on!!

    • Ramble away Louis, I love it! Seriously, I appreciate all your comments and ideas. It makes it such fun to share what I’m doing, and I learn from each commenter. Thanks much Louis!

  13. I love the nest…I love her face…the ? leg…freaks me out a little..though you know..in colour..it might just not look as scary?

    • 🙂 I know it’s just me, but birds are a little scary in their legs and feet-I’m thinking dinosaur-like. Thanks Shree. I love your comments!

  14. Utter spookiness and the strange realism lives together, is really the dream world.
    It seems, this image remains in my subconscious long long time.

  15. Love at first sight.

  16. There’s a whole world opening up here – and you know how to draw us in. Lovely illustration, Elena.

  17. Lovely …. sprinkled with star-dust. Such wonderful fantasy. Love the texture of the feathers, you’re a magician with your brushes.

  18. Amazing work! And I think it works great in black and white.

  19. Wow! I am completely intrigued by the story developing here – its like watching a fairy tale in its magical infancy.
    Elena, that bird-child is gorgeous and mysterious. I will end this with another Wow!

  20. Amazing!! So eager to see more and more and more!

  21. I spurred another blogger to take on feather inspirations today because he told me that his grandmother had kept feathers all around her room and asked him to paint them. If you’re interested, check out his photo blog post at http://shpics.wordpress.com/2013/03/07/simply-swanning-around/.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

