ART

Feeling Blueish

blandscapedesat copy

*This post was written long before the events in Boston however, “feeling blueish”  is an apt title for today.

Photoshop has a very cool feature found under Image>Adjustments>Variations.  I’ve clearly been experimenting with Variations.

Since color can dramatically change the way a piece is viewed; the way it feels, Variations helped me decide how to convert my black and white bird-children to a more eye-catching color to prepare for sale on Blue Canvas.  Since then, I’ve gone conversion wild,  playing with several new pieces.

Which one do you prefer?

blandscape3-30psd copy

blandscape copy

Comments on: "Feeling Blueish" (59)

  1. I know this is waaaaay late…but definitely number 2!!!! 😀

  2. Really beautiful work. I prefer the 1st and 3rd images – the first being stark and somber, while the color in the 3rd made that same image seem joyful. Again beautiful!

  3. I like the middle one in blues the best. It seems to define the figure and the ground in a way that relates best for what I feel from the piece.

  4. I’m not seeing a lot of love for the second version – the blue and purple. But I agree with Tom… it’s my favorite. It has a coldness to it that is somehow alluring, but not quite as bleak as the first.

  5. I favor the final one.

  6. They are all wonderful Elena. The first one is dramatic, the light and tones has great impact. I feel very much “at home” in the second one, purple floating in blue – makes me feel elevated.

  7. The first does it for me. I lack the technical terminology to state clearly why … but it just … err … does. 🙂

  8. Tough call but the first one is a standout. The muted backdrop enhances the overall experience, very eye-catching!

  9. The first one has such incredible light. The tones are beautiful. Each variation has its own sense of place and emotion. The last one feels like spring tentatively arriving.

  10. I like the first the best I think as the eye focuses on the bird figure the most although the colours in the third are beautiful too. Feeling blue for Boston too. My brother and his family live in Connecticut so not that far away. So senseless………

  11. They all are beautiful. First and third for me too…
    I feel like instep into to the background especially in first.
    Mood would affect my choice and just a small touch can change the mood dramatically.
    I wonder how a purple bird child would look in the last.
    Like that purple.
    xo
    Tery

  12. I don’t have this ‘Variations’ option on my antique version – it looks very interesting. It’s not possible to make a straight choice between these three – it depends on your mood of the moment. They each have a different feel. But I’m intrigued by the Cezanne palette of No 3!.

  13. I agree with all, they are so beautiful, but the first one is the best for the feelings of today, Thanks and Love, nia

  14. That’s a really tough choice. They’re all great. Can I choose the first and the last? I like how they’re both quite extreme. It’s amazing how much you can communicate with colour.

  15. you know I like the colors but here I prefer the first one. I find it more dramatic. 🙂

  16. Thank you, Elena, I’ll have to try this feature!
    I love the 1st & 3rd most too… I think the 1st conveys the “feel” most powerfully, and the lights in the child and the mountain seem most related… However, I REALLY love the colors of the mountains in the 3rd!
    (Are the mountains and the child on separate layers?)
    Thank you, again, so much for sharing your wonderful vision and work with us! 🙂

  17. Elena, I normally like colour, and lots of it… but I prefer the middle one out of this selection. The blue seems nice and cooling – calming.

  18. So beautiful Elena.

  19. Very beautiful pictures, dear Elena!
    All my love, each has its charm!
    Thank you so much for sharing!
    Big hugs, much love, Stefania! 🙂

  20. I like the first one best! 😉

  21. Wow, the first and very last are my favorites 🙂 I used that feature all the time…lol

  22. Beautiful! I really like the first one. So lovely.

  23. The top one is the strongest in my opinion. Nice work on both.

  24. mysending said:

    Yup–I’m feeling the pain of Boston now, so the first one is touching me deeply.

  25. And I like the second one…so that means they’re all good!

  26. This was a tough decision…but something made my heart jump on the last one. But I like the first one a lot as well. This is hard!!! You know I love your bird-children!

  27. I see the first one, purest.
    This purple seems to be common with
    Spanish old master.

  28. Perfect title. I like the first the best.

  29. The first and third. Beautiful!
    I just LOVE your paintings!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

