ART

Divide Series 4

bdividestunnedpsdOil on canvas preliminary for the Divide Series

bdivide4With a glaze of white, parting the planes.

Comments on: "Divide Series 4" (57)

  1. Incredible intensity you’ve captured. Nice work!

  2. I shocked by the feeling of helplessness, powerlessness and fear emanating from the one with the white glaze.

  3. You have definitely parted the planes, wow!

  4. Wow, this is really powerful. Great paintings, Elena!

  5. Portrait amazing! Congratulations, dear Elena!
    Both paintings, I like very much. Thank you so much for sharing!
    Have a wonderful day! Big hugs, Stefania! 🙂

  6. Beautiful work Elena. Love the luminosity in the upper lip, eyes and nose. What did you use to mix the orange?

  7. That really is a haunting portrait Elena. The top one is very good, but the white glaze heightens the emotion. They make my stomach contract. The fear is very real.

  8. She is gorgeous, Elena. I like the version with the white glaze best. It looks as if she’s looking out a cloudy or frosted window.

  9. How beautifully haunting, Elena! I can’t stop going back to them. They both have subtlety different emotions, but are equally compelling The white glaze seems to make her gaze less direct yet somehow accentuates the ‘panic’.

    Your work is so engaging.

  10. Beautiful works Elena ! ❤

  11. Beautiful painting. I must say in my humble opinion that the glaze takes away from the beauty of the painting prior to its application. Both are beautiful but I prefer pre-glaze this time.

  12. Wow! Such a powerful face – so beautifully painted with those perfect shadows and highlights. Terrifically haunting with the glaze. Wow! (It deserves more than one wow. Probably more than two. Haha.) 😉

  13. Very dramatic and quite scary – would complement a Henry James story very effectively.

  14. That expression! Yet another stunning portrait, Elena. Love your work!

  15. Oh I just love your portraits! They are so detailed and full of expression. And this one is no exception- brilliantly done Elena! I like how you captured fear in the models eyes and I’m quite a fan of the white glaze-gives the piece a mystical feeling. Great work!

  16. Love the version with the glaze. It emphasises her expression even more. Haunting image, Elena!

  17. Great work, Elena.

  18. Effective use of the glaze. I like that one the best ; )

  19. Beautiful beautiful work, Elena!
    Happy Monday, my dear!
    🙂

  20. Because I know nothing about painting…not sure if the second one with the glaze is considered finished or not, but I love that one. My favorite of the two. As if she’s been captured in a smoke filled room…or a dark night under a street light. Fabulous!

    • You’ve got a great eye Robin, so your comments are always welcome! Yes, the glazed is the finish. It sort of smothers her communication of what she is feeling. Thank you!

  21. Very effective paintings Elena. The haunted look of fear – I feel her breath on me as her gaze seeks out what is causing her to be in fear. I like the first painting with the limited palette of gold and rose tones.

  22. I’m not sure whether glazed version is the one on the process of
    next step or finished work. —– what so ever, your skill to capture
    the fear is nothing but impressive.
    In fact, the image is haunting, and its mood is contagious. Awesome !

  23. She looks so torn…
    I don’t know why…but for some reason…the second one makes me feel like it’s hard to breathe :/ Maybe it’s the sadness in her eyes?

    That being said…that means it is an awesome piece of work 😉

  24. They are both so impressive… Beautiful paintings, Thanks and Love, nia

  25. I like your work very much, and am impressed by your progression.

  26. I love seeing different variations of paintings. Beautiful work, Elena.

  27. Quite the difference, a white wash glaze can provide.
    They look like two very different pieces.
    I, too, love the top one. The colors are bright and really shows her look of fear….being scared and alone.
    The white washed one reminds me of many of the smoke photographies I’ve seen.

  28. I really like the one on the top, without the glaze, better. It’s stark and too too too…just right! Well, unless the goal is to show the subject at ease. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

