ART

bseahorse copy

Comments on: "Saturday Swim" (76)

  1. settleandchase said:

    Such exciting colours and movement!

  2. I feel involve by the soothing sound of the sea just looking at it.

  3. sooooo pretty! Love this!

  4. Woooh! I like this one!

  5. Jane Thorne said:

    Elena, your journey with watercolour is flowing so well. I love it. 🙂

  6. Beautiful work! Those little fish around the seahorse really add to the beauty:)

  7. Wonderful seahorse!

  8. Hi Elena, this is one of my favourites, I love the spines and the way you’ve applied the paint to create depth to the seahorse.

  9. Exciting piece Elena – you knew exactly where little touches of blue work perfectly in the piece! I learn every time I see one of your drawings.

  10. I love your watercolors! My teacher has me working in oil this summer and I am reminded how much I would like to return to my watery, water color paints. How big is the original Seahorse and did you paint from memory/imagination?

    • Hi Marian! Let me first say that I’ve come late to watercolor I’ve been working with it for about a year. I was most comfortable with opaque medium. I suppose I love them all and I’m learning from each to apply to all. This seahorse sketch is 11″x14″. I started with a picture of a seahorse just for general information and inspiration, then I riffed on it changing color, structure and simplifying shapes. The fish sprang from my head and onto the page. I knew I wanted some dimension and or atmosphere, so I used scale to play with that illusion. The brush took over re:the shapes and shenanigans of the little fish. Thanks for asking, and have fun with your oils!

  11. Love that look in his eye!

  12. Oo la-la…. I so missed your blog—another beauty for your collection–which, of course, will one day be bound up in hard covers for us all to enjoy and keep.

  13. Very nice again, dear Elena. You have chosen a very beautiful theme to illustrate, – marine life. Thank you so much for sharing.
    Have a wonderful Sunday! Big hugs, much love, Stefania! 🙂

  14. You have excelled yourself again dear Elena.. this is marvellous!

  15. This is amazing. It practically jumps off the page and has a real 3D effect.

  16. This is really brilliant Elena ! Love it ❤❤❤❤❤

  17. What a great week of watercolours. Love the intricacy and lightness of touch in this one. Beautiful.

  18. So playful! Love!!

  19. Wonderful seahorse 🙂

  20. Def. one of my favs!

  21. i love it love it love it love it LOVE IT!

    A few months ago i did a few fun sea horses, and they were so much fun to paint! how great it is to see your fresh and well-executed painting!

  22. This one is especially appealing to my senses…wonderful.

  23. Oh, I agree with Karen… what a week, Elena!
    🙂

  24. Great seahorse, and all the wonderful fishies.

  25. Wonderful movement – full of life and fun.

  26. Vraiment impressionnant O.o

  27. This is incredibly beautiful, Elena. Masterful details and wonderful movement! I’m loving this whole week of watercolours , what a treat.

  28. Seahorse! He looks a lil crabby, though.

  29. Fantastic ! I like everybody expressing something on their mouths. 🙂

  30. Wow! Beautiful seahorse!

  31. oooooooooooo I really like this one!

  32. Oh wow, that’s a cracker of a seahorse!

  33. Love the details, particularly on the seahorse — just gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

