ART

Two Sides

bKerriorgdretouched copy 2

Two variations of K.bKerri glamor retouched copy

There are so many ways to portray a subject.  Even when the portrait is figurative, a straight forward depiction of likeness; a literal likeness of an individual, it’s a challenge to decide which aspect of your model you want to highlight or capture.  That said, I’ve been playing with “sets”.  These are two figurative, straight up portraits of an individual, exploring two very different ways of seeing her.

-Please forgive the less than ideal photos of these oil paintings. The human eye blends the color and values, my lack of expertise  with a camera seems to separate them-

 

Comments on: "Two Sides" (85)

  1. Both portraits are fantastic, but the way the eyes are done puts them on another level. Truly haunting.

  2. I’ve said it before but I will say it again anyway Elena.. you are so very good at capturing emotion which makes your paintings so very alive

  3. Wonderful work Elena, I love how you have captured her expression.

  4. Lovely. The second one – if I was in the room and her reaction was to me – would make me want to say, I’m sorry, I didn’t mean what I said…:)

  5. Truly beautiful work, Elena! It’s amazing how a little shift in perspective can change the way an image is comprehended and looked at.

  6. Beautifully done.

  7. You’re an amazing artist Elena. The two portraits are incredible. Her vulnerable, longing but curious eyes are enchanting. I like her very much and I wish her a beautiful life.

  8. settleandchase said:

    So interesting, and such a mark of your skill that you can bring out these subtle variations..both so beautiful and striking..

  9. Beautiful work!

  10. Superb portraits Elena! 🙂

  11. Seeing the two very different portraits together almost has K out of the frame, entertaining us with a presence of fleeting and lingering emotions. You are such a brilliant mood catcher!

  12. Gorgeous!!!! 😀

  13. OMG!!! this are so beautiful!!!!! simply loved it!! wonderful art my friend!!!

  14. Elena,
    You are the most amazing painter! these are stunning. again I couldn’t tell the first image wasn’t a photo. Fabulous!

    XO

  15. Love the emotion and different expression that changed in those too different angles.. great portraits.

  16. I like your unique “vision” to express different moods, feelings and emotions.
    m

  17. Both are beautiful pieces; together they present a fascinating study of character & emotion. 🙂

  18. Amazing how two portraits of the same girl can express two sides of her character so poignantly. In the first one K is more pensive and maybe even a bit melancholy, while in the second one K is just a bit more irritated or annoyed. Love them both.

  19. Both are exquisite pieces! The colors used for the skin tone are gorgeous.

  20. Both are beautifully expressive. She seems vulnerable in both and a little more mysterious in the second.

  21. Love both Dear Elena! But there is something in the second one that trascends the image…I do not know…May be a hidden vulnerability? I love it!

  22. These portraits are wonderful and very interesting.

  23. The expression in the eyes of both portraits is very beautiful. I love how each says something different.

  24. Both of them are amazing…a lot of emotions to be felt in each of them.Masterwork!

  25. Wow, just stunning! Clearly the same girl but in very different moods. Your ability to capture likeness and personality is just amazing! They really deserve more comment than that but I don’t know what else to say! Some time you should post some of your beginner portraits, maybe with some comments about what you learned along the way! 🙂

  26. I love those eyes… Yes, each painting is different but they say a lot. Great work, Elena!

  27. I just LOVE it ! And particulary the expression of the second! wondefull job !

  28. such a subtlety in your technique. You capture the infinite variety of female emotion perfectly. They are both wonderful.

  29. Really interesting to see the difference – and it raises fascinating questions about portraiture in general. Great paintings, Elena!

  30. wonderfull demonstration for the different expressions. I like the first and I like especially the radiance of the second one

  31. Oh they are very different, and so expressive. You are able to capture so many subtleties of emotion. Gorgeous!

  32. Stunning portraits, dear Elena! Very well made​​! Congratulations!
    Thank you so much for sharing with us your amazing work!
    Have a wonderful day, dear Elena! Big hugs, much love, Stefania! 🙂

  33. Endless expressions to explore. If one watches carefully, all thoughts show on faces.
    Well show, Elena and both are beautiful angles captured.
    🙂

  34. Your point is well made and very well illustrated.

  35. Dear Elena, fascinate me again what you did. They both have a very impressive expressions on their face… I can write a story for them, you really made great paintings, I admire your art. Thanks and Love, nia

  36. These are wonderful! So full of emotion! I especially like the second one. Awesome job!

  37. Almost two entirely different people with different hopes and dreams and motivations. Beautiful work!

  38. Oh Elena…I LOVE these. Both of them. The first one spoke to me, loudest though. The expression of K on the second is perfect, though.

  39. K is so beautiful. It’s always amazed me how an artist can paint the emotions…your work is so incredible!

  40. I couldn’t guess how subtle difference of color hue and how they are affecting
    the impression from each paintings though, I guess the effect of the photographic
    conversion affecting both of them in equal way.
    On the end, two painting still shows one personality is the matter, and your skill
    to do it amazes me.

    When I played with a photo, by cutting it into each pieces of eyes, nose, lips and
    tried to reconfigure for different expression, it became to a different person.
    —- so that to draw different paintings with different angle and different shape of
    the components, still showing the same personality is incredible.

    • Thank you Yoshi! I think what helps here, is the opportunity to know this young woman. Clearly we are all complex creatures. Teens of course are growing in many ways from week to week, so it’s easy to glimpse the varied people within.

  41. just wondering if you use alla prima technique …..

    Wonderful portraits!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

