ART

eastern ribbon snake

Right now in northern NJ, USA, baby snakes are plentiful.  Most of our slitherers give birth late summer or early fall.  Here we have an eastern ribbon snake and a couple of northern water snakes.  These shots were taken within the last couple weeks.  I’ve seen many more lately,  but they’re just too quick for me to snap!

bblue2 copy

This guy is sporting a brille, or an eye cap. Looks like he may be ready to molt.

bleafsnake copy

Comments on: "Whole Lotta Slithering Going On!" (41)

  1. Ooooo lovely Elena. I particularly like that bottom shot.

  2. Oo..are any of them poisonous? Love the shots..especially the first one!

  3. These are very cool shots 🙂

  4. Great shots, Elena. The light and composition of the last one make a very absorbing scene.

  5. Oh, dear Helen, I’m pining for reptiles. I’m scared of them.
    You are very brave if you’ve photographed. Congratulations.
    The pictures are very beautiful.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Have a wonderful day. Big hugs, Stefania! 🙂

  6. Oh, for a swamp! We’re lucky to find an earthworm here! Your snakes make excellent subject matter for photographs, and you’ve used them well.

  7. Wonderful photographs – you managed a couple of really good ones. But oh man, they scare the heck out of me – you are a brave one!

  8. Impressive! Nice photos.

  9. Ooooh, that’s quite close. Wow…great work Elena. Wonderful captures!

  10. That is a whole lot of slithering! That last photograph is very artistic. Beautiful slitherers.

  11. Oh my! How beautiful!

  12. Beautiful creatures and nice shots of them.
    Have a wonderful day.
    Roland

  13. Brave girl!! 🙂 Worth it though! 🙂

  14. I would be more worried about their parents finding me! As for the brill, how amazing seeing eye to eye with that

  15. You are amazing and brave than me 🙂 This should be exciting too. Thank you dear Elena, love, nia

  16. I like the photos but I REALLY dislike snakes

  17. Impressive and so cute, very well captured… 🙂

  18. Gracious goodness ! You are having quite exciting life.
    Live in this country half of my life, I saw a snake only once !
    (pencil size grass snake) 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

