ART

bblood and vapor 2 copy

Pastel Pencil 8″x10″   Although I enjoyed making this sketch, I wasn’t really going anywhere.   It’s too literal, so I’m leaving it behind.  I’m working on lots of other solutions. So far, not much is really hitting the mark for the series*.

*A new series, “Blood And Vapor”.:   Who lingers within you?   Have you ever felt an ancestral presence?  The inescapable tie of family:hundreds of individuals, yesterday and today, here and gone.  A powerful resonance or inconspicuous vapor?

Comments on: "Blood and Vapor Series Sketch" (63)

  1. settleandchase said:

    Really fascinating idea..inescapable ties, in so many ways, even the threat of becoming a certain person, or the wish to be more like them..the memories, the stories and traditions..endlessly interesting. Its fascinating too how other family members creep into another’s face or expression, sometimes skipping generations and re-appearing..how much can we actually ever be purely ourselves? My great great Grandmother was found as a baby left on the doorstep, and adopted to us, no idea of her family – we often talk about what we may have inherited from her and what traits may be related to her lost family.

    I can certainly see a seed of an idea in this picture – I like how the dog has his face pressed into the wind, looking somewhere into the deep distance while the boy is distracted forwards..

    And now I have rambled..:)

    • Anything but a ramble Cath. Your thoughtful comment offers me marvelous insight into the project. I’m struggling with it, but your inspiration helps me think more, try harder. Thanks ever so much.

  2. I agree with Shree. It’s fabulous!

  3. The sense of nostalgia in this sketch is rather heartbreaking and I am sure will you get it to where you want it to be.

  4. Beautiful, it made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. I feel connected very much still to both my grandmothers. Not in a ghostly way, I can’t really explain what I mean which is frustrating. I have in my bedroom, a vertical row of photographs in the same frame. They are my great grandmother, my grandmother, my mother and I. The week my grandmother died, the photo of my great grandmother slid down and covered her face. The photos have never moved before or after. I think I just miss them so much that they will always be part of me.

  5. We are all part of ghostly chains that interconnect to make up the mesh of generations , memories, communities & cultures. The composition opens a window into that mesh. Looks to be an intriguing series of images. 🙂

  6. Holy cow, that is really spooky! And very cool! Not sure why you don’t feel it’s working – maybe revisit it in a week or two. 🙂

  7. Lovely drawing 🙂 I do think this is a great addition to the series, but I hope whatever you complete next is up to your own expectations as well.

  8. Again a very nice outline. Very nice picture of childhood scene, the best time of your life! Congratulations.
    Have a wonderful dear Elena! Hugs, Stefania! 🙂

  9. I applaud your courage Elena. The concept you are exploring is not difficult to understand but artistically it is extremely challenging. Although you’re not concerned here with landscape, somewhere I sense a connection with JMW Turner’s ‘painting with light’ to suggest emotional relationship. Indeed. your shadowy girl figure is a not dissimilar response to the problem.

  10. Keep at it if you can. Great concept for a series and I would love to see the pieces you are happy with.
    This one is cute though 🙂

  11. poppytump said:

    I think the little dog senses something … and I like the way the face seems to have a resemblance to the boy … a feeling of perhaps not letting go
    Shorts and bare knees in boys .. so old fashioned. Love it .

  12. I like being able to see this develop – thanks for sharing. This reminds me a little of James Lumbers. When I was in high school I saw two prints of his in a poster shop and kept coming back to them. I guess I felt a connection to them. Anyway, your concept made me think of these, though they may more literal or completely different to what you have in mind. I can’t remember if I’ve shared these with you before – if so apologies for the repeat!

  13. I think it’s a lovely sketch Elena!

  14. “Blood and vapor” reminded me of a photo I took of my daughter holding her grandmother’s portrait…one done in pastels when she was a little girl. I had curled Becca’s hair in ringlets for fun and suddenly had the spitting image of her grandmother’s portrait right there in real life.

  15. Personally I love it, but I understand and respect the “torment” of the artist when she feels she has not fully conveyed what she meant to, the way she meant to. You are incredibly talented and of course your inspiration will “hit you” the moment you least expect it 🙂

  16. I often start a new project without being too sure where it will lead me. Not all works goes to the end but each of them has helped me to understand myself better.

    This series gives me feeling of looking at a hidden world we don’t normally see.

    • So very true Marcelo! I have no idea where this will go, but I’m like a terrier about it:) Can’t get it out of my mind. Glad to know that I’m in good company.

  17. very interesting idea.

  18. I find this extraordinary, Elena and i especially love the dog, but you are boss! 🙂
    I love it! 🙂

  19. I know what you mean about sometimes things being to literal (although there is something lovely about this), I seem to be always fighting with that myself. Looking forward to seeing how things develop through your explorations of this series.
    I like that you are sharing what you think doesn’t quite work or doesn’t fit your ideas.

  20. I think you’ve interpreted the characters in an impressive way; they tell the story:)Love the colours&pencil work…everything 🙂

  21. Elena that is very good in my eyes.. I know they are not as good as yours… But I think there is something special here.. Wonder why everybody start painting ghosts, there must be something around the corner?

  22. ahhh the wishes and whispers of ‘what if’ and ‘other’

  23. You may find it too literal, but personally I like it. Intriguing thought process… the inescapable tie of family.

  24. I know what you mean. Looking forward the other solutions. Particularly, I love the colors and shadows that you use in the boy’s face… I’m not sure but it reminds some of the Picasso’s works.

  25. A little boy, his dog and his imaginary/ghostly friend. I have to say- she looks a bit creepy to me (I think it’s the wide grin on her transparent face), but nevertheless it’s a beautiful sketch. Great job!

  26. Yes, seems to me too like a ghost behind the boy and his dog… Lovely painting but it is enigmatic because of this ghost image too 🙂 Thanks and Love, nia

  27. Very nice picture. In answer to your question, I once visited a psychic and felt the presence of many family members who had passed away (including our pet dog).

  28. I think it’s too literal for you too! But, I do like the comment about his guardian angel.

  29. I understand, although I like the sketch. Shreejabob makes a good point that it looks like a ghost shadow behind the boy and his dog.

  30. Oh but I like it Elena! It’s kinda ..a little scary…if you think of ghosts…BUT I decided to think of her as his guardian angel 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

