ART

Blood and Vapor:Genesis

broots

I’ve come to the conclusion that I need to play out the more obvious notions “haunting” this project to hopefully make way for more comprehensive pieces. While only addressing one aspect of my premise, this piece strikes a personal cord for me.

I’ll be posting two more “Blood and Vapor” visual investigations this week.

*A new series, “Blood And Vapor”.:   Who lingers within you?   Have you ever felt an ancestral presence?  The inescapable tie of family:hundreds of individuals, yesterday and today, here and gone.  A powerful resonance or inconspicuous vapor?

Comments on: "Blood and Vapor:Genesis" (52)

  1. Great! I like the “no time” mood in this image!
    robert

  2. Be-autiful, Elena!

  3. Love the concept! And I really like the mood that both of their mouths create!

  4. Haunting and very beautiful.

  5. A ‘traditional’ approach maybe, but by masking the top half of the old lady’s face you have left space for various interpretations.

  6. This one is immediate and memorable. Such a strong mood.

  7. … a very bold outward gaze from the little babe and a touch of sorrow in the woman’s demeanour half in shadow … hauntingly beautiful Elena .

  8. Way to go on this piece Elena, it does tend to stay with you – haunting? Right description as there is a story behind this, clues with the untamed vines ~

  9. Such a powerful visual between the light and the dark.

  10. Beautifully done…it does indeed look like an old photograph! I see the figure of a cat like animal behind them..makes me think it’s the little girls animal spirit guide!

  11. Very very nice this sketch, dear Nia. Remarkable! Always portraits of mother and child in her arms, I move upon me! Nothing compares to a mother’s love for her child. You illustrated this exception.
    Thank you so much for sharing with us.
    Have a wonderful day dear Elena. Big hugs, with love, Stefania! 🙂

  12. WOW! This is great image dear Elena, fascinated me. Thank you, love, nia

  13. Wow, haunting indeed! Beautiful light and shadow.

  14. A fantastic painting Elena. Remarkable!

  15. Heck, I feel a connection to this woman! Wonderful. And, yes, I have felt an ancestral presence many times.

  16. Haunting…mysterious…perfectly done 🙂

  17. Amazing painting! Very powerful Elena.

  18. powerful one 🙂

  19. Again… haunting in a sweet way! 🙂

  20. A striking portrait, and very well executed.

  21. I love this!! I think it is my favorite of the series so far!

  22. I’m puzzling over the scene and this (figurative?) portrayal of woman and child. May i ask what the significance is with regard to it ” striking a personal cord”? It sure has a haunting quality – the woman’s (mother?) face is half way obscured while the child’s is fully visible… (the past and into the future?) From the title, Genesis i’m guessing this is the start / beginning; the connection between future generations. The scene so reminds me of the snapshots of old, just as my grandmother posed with her newborn child, my father.

    • Thanks so very much for your thoughtful question. Your insights are right on. The personal note comes from that overwhelming parental pull that never dissipates.

  23. The fact that we do not see the woman’s eyes is quite haunting, Elena.

  24. This is really beautiful – both the artwork and the idea. Look forward to seeing more!

  25. This is beautiful, Elena.

  26. I love the concept.

  27. The subject, tones and moodiness are really working here.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

