ART

Blood and Vapor:Threads

bblood-and-vaporties-copyWatercolor, Oil Paint and Thread on Watercolor Paper

I’ve packed this little painting with symbolism.  Another very personal piece.

*A new series, “Blood And Vapor”.:   Who lingers within you?   Have you ever felt an ancestral presence?  The inescapable tie of family:hundreds of individuals, yesterday and today, here and gone.  A powerful resonance or inconspicuous vapor?

Comments on: "Blood and Vapor:Threads" (77)

  1. Hi, what a great technique in your work, I know watercolor is difficult! I like it!

  2. Such a striking piece. I keep going back to the girl’s hand spread wide in front of the dress.

  3. Jane Thorne said:

    Elena, you have captured the innocence and feeling so beautifully in this piece. Thank you for sharing. Xx

  4. This so reminds me of a photo of my mom when she was a little girl. Love this Elena. Fabulous work – and really love this series that you are working on…

  5. Yes, it feels very rich and deep with meaning. And I have felt that ancestral presence. I did a rather odd self-portrait years ago with a dragon landing on my ancestral island. It was also full of symbolism for me, though I couldn’t have really explained it to anyone else. I guess that’s why it was expressed through visual art instead of literary means.
    This is an amazing piece. Beautifully done!

  6. Again an amazing painting, dear Elena. Very nice of innocence revealed!
    Thank you so much for sharing!
    Have a wonderful weekend, dear Elena! Big hugs, Stefania! 🙂

  7. A real great work. Great with just a few colors and a lot of feelings in that little girl.

  8. Beautiful piece – love the tension between the dreaminess of the painting and the tension of the thread.

  9. Clever use of thread Elena! And the painting is stunning- I’m always very impressed by your paintings of children.

  10. This is utterly gorgeous. I love the thread, symbolic of many things, I’m sure. It makes me think if the idea of “pulling things out of thin air” – memories and ideas almost at your fingertips. The dimension in the open hand emphasis that beautifully.
    Wow! : )

  11. that’s wonderful. I want to paint 🙂 have a great day 🙂

  12. Elena love the brown as background like old masters technique. I used it for learning portrait recently from a great artist. all based on glazing. And you have a story too.. beautiful.

  13. Like a secret view into the hidden corners of the childhood…very beautiful!

  14. Wow! Like an old, mysterious, sepia photograph. Just beautiful!

  15. This is brilliant, Elena ! Love the soft touch and colors❤️

  16. Elena, this is absolutely stunning!

  17. Just on a physical level alone we are noticeably connected. Once while sitting next to my brother and looking at his arm I noticed that we, in essence, had the same ‘skin’ . It sort of surprised me because we see ourselves as distinct individuals in our culture. Many times I notice the same mannerisms, gestures, etc from me that would identify with my father. This means that some of the basic body movements or whatever could go back generations! Yes then there is this apparent spiritual connection that seems to be there too. Nice work ! ( hope I’m not being too verbose)

  18. This moving series is a painful and heart-breaking chronicle of those memories that never go away.

  19. Delightful. I have a feeling this series is becoming increasingly autobiographical!

  20. Nostalgia (for me) very luminous.I like very much the contrast : white/warm color.

  21. Wonderful technique. Another beautiful picture Elena! 🙂

  22. I love this series, Elena… 🙂

  23. Simply gorgeous! Such beautiful little details you captured!
    -JH

  24. This is lovely. I like the way you capture the light reflections. Such a different color palette for you. This has a dream-like quality. It transports me.

  25. I should love to understand more .
    Such a brilliance in your rendering of light here Elena and the little girl’s gesture .

    • Thank you Poppy. It’s wonderful of you to comment. A little hint about my intention:the treads draw all of life-end it, pull us, connect us. The ferris wheel, and the greenhouse, you can guess:) Then there’s the beach…

  26. Wow! A totally different style… I thought it was an old photo, so realistic, lovely! Very artistic 🙂

  27. settleandchase said:

    A haunting and intriguing series Elena..they feel like they are coming alive through the page somehow as always, but even more strongly so..

  28. Another brilliant technical piece with materials and composition Elena. Intriguing – sometimes I feel that presence and wonder what does it mean? Ah the family tree that goes beyond present brings a whole set of mysteries . . .

  29. That is really quite spectacular.

  30. Love these last 2 Elena. Nostalgic! 🙂

  31. Wow! I love the fluidity of this painting.

  32. Elena, is it possible for the inconspicuous vapour to be the powerful resonance that keeps pulling us back? And the little girls we once were, before becoming the women we are, so many ancestral ties of blood and vapour. A beautifully heartbreaking piece of work!

  33. All I can say is “WOW!”

  34. I met my mother once, after she died. But I think that most of the preceding generations remain in us in memory and in energy. We are all connected, not just by blood, but by spirit. This is a magnificent piece, Elena, I think it could be one of the best I’ve ever seen from you, which says a lot. Can’t wait to see to upcoming series.

  35. Nice and delicate!

  36. Like pulling teeth, perhaps?

  37. This is a beautiful piece of work. Not sure about the symbolism…so typical of me…I see stuff when there usually isn’t anything to see by others and don’t see it when I’m supposed to! LOL.

    I think it’s really lovely though…and the things that make a childhood fun in the background 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

