ART

cicada copymeerkat copyparrot copyshrew copy

@turkey copy

Original post

Many of you will remember my husband’s unique tradition of removing the sump of our family’s Christmas tree when the Holidays are over, and before it it dragged to the curb.  He seasons each stump and transitions it into a creature significant to us in that year. Then, he cleverly inserts a penny with the year’s date into the base of each little sculpture to document its year.

Today we have a collection of thirty-two sculptures. Until the end of the year, each week I’ll be posting photos of the carvings that I haven’t previously posted, until we are caught up to the stump from last year’s tree.

Each carving is precious to us.   I hope you will enjoy them.

Comments on: "Christmas Tree Carvings Revisted" (89)

  1. Very nice idea and sculptures!

  2. They are adorable, Elena! 😃

  3. Wow! They are adorable!

  4. createsumzing said:

    Oh cool, seems like the type of stuff I would see in a Museum. Love the bug sculpture!

  5. Oh, I so remember that post! Thought it was such an adorable idea! So happy that you will be sharing!!

  6. I certainly enjoy them – they’re beautifully fashioned.

  7. What a fine and fantastic tradition, the carvings are all zoo beautiful. I will always see Christmas tree stumps in new light now, and think of you and your husband!

  8. wow! that is something different 🙂

  9. Wow! What a treat to share these … and clearly talent runs in this family.
    Great Tradition!

  10. Elena it run in the family what amazing skill. looking forward to see the collection… the Wooden Advent calendar.

  11. This is fantastic! Very nice.

  12. Yes, I remember it! Awesome!

  13. They are incredibly precious and original. I adore the mercat and the little mole (?) in the stump. They are so great!

    Can I start sending him my tree stumps…?

  14. guess what, I love the birds ^^ but the being between the two is very favourited too 🙂 ….Actually they look all great ^^ such things are true art!

  15. Is a really nice idea, your husband has a great talent,
    Congratulations!

  16. What a clever idea and great tradition! Love it! 🙂

  17. Amazing sculptures! Your husband is a great artist!
    Congratulations to his creations.
    Have a wonderful day, dear Elena. Hugs, Stefania! 🙂

  18. What a fantastic tradition – they’re so sweet!

  19. Real cool things:)

  20. poppytump said:

    I’m wondering what we possibly have with such a long tradition and nothing matched this .Elena
    Wonderful creative work made with love .

  21. I Am Jasmine Kyle said:

    I really like this art form. I’ve seen some AMAZING carvings! Have a great holiday!

  22. Wow Elena these are stunning – such beautiful details. You can tell a great deal of time and planning goes into each piece. What a wonderful way to build memories.

  23. They are so lovely, I loved them all dear Elena, Thanks and Love, nia

  24. Very creative! What a wonderful idea your husband had. And he is very talented too. Can’t wait to see the rest!

  25. These carvings are wonderful, You’re husband is extremely talented. I love them all but my favorite is the mole 🙂

  26. What a wonderful family tradition Elena! They are beautiful. 🙂

  27. That is an amazing tradition!!
    Mmm…can I ask something…what is the first carving? I’m so sorry..but I think I see something but doubt it is what I think it is!

    😀

  28. Absolutely ingenious! And delightful carvings, too.

  29. These are lovely Elena. A wonderful, purposeful tradition.

  30. Those are beautiful, Elena! He is very talented! Thanks for sharing them!

  31. So much creativity in one place…it’s good to know you share it with us! Thanks!

  32. Wow, how amazing! AND useful too… I love the idea of repurposing and am fascinated with what he does with those stumps. Looking forward to seeing more!
    xox

  33. Fantastic! They are adorable, first of all, but what a wonderful and heart-warming tradition. So fun to read little stories just like this!

  34. Love them!!

  35. What a wonderful tradition! And they’re great carvings too! I love that man, and I don’t even know him! Chuckle. Give him a big hug from the WP family!

  36. Wow, these are amazing, Elena. What a wonderful tradition.

  37. very cool! my favorite so far is the bird

  38. I love this idea. Your talented husband is creating lasting memories for your family. This is priceless. Treasures, indeed!

  39. Excellent… clever, thought provoking and personal.

  40. What a perfectly brilliant idea. That is the true definition of “priceless.”

  41. I love all of them, but especially the fourth one. A great sense of discovery. 🙂

  42. What a beautiful idea, Elena!! They are precious indeed! 🙂

  43. A very brilliant idea and beautiful carvings.

  44. Wao ! I like it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

