ART

Julian’s

Screen shot 2014-03-21 at 2.50.16 PM

This is the first time I’ve featured the work of a fellow artist on my blog.

2j

j10

Screen shot 2014-03-21 at 2.51.31 PM

When I first started to blog, I made the decision to keep my intentions simple and though I’ve been quite tempted to highlight the work of artists I admire, I have only shown you my various efforts.

j4

Today I’m making an exception because the artist whose work I’m featuring is my son.

Screen shot 2014-03-20 at 5.13.19 PM

Gesture, humor, elegance and the drama of the human condition converge and surprise in Julian Cartwright’s  drawings and paintings.

j5

Screen shot 2014-03-21 at 2.52.26 PM

At least that’s how I see it. 

Screen shot 2014-03-20 at 5.17.30 PM

Enjoy!

j7

Comments on: "Julian’s" (65)

  1. Ştefania said:

    Your son has inherited the talent from you. It’s a very talented artist. Congratulations to your son, dear Elena! 🙂

  2. Stroke of genius.. and it makes me smile, music to my eyes, well done Elena.

  3. settleandchase said:

    These are just brilliant! Something so satisfying about them, they feel like music and words as well as artwork. What a talented family!

  4. The illustrator’s gene has obviously been passed on!

  5. What can I say that hasn’t already been said, the line drawings are wonderful. With a few strokes of your brush, you say so much, Elena. Your son with a few lines of his pen says so much also.

  6. Wow, these are wonderful! I especially love the first image. Thank you for sharing Julian’s work with us, Elena.

  7. How cool is this?! Great sketches – filled with wonderment and creativity, why would I think anything else considering his creative parents.

  8. These drawings are lovely Elena, and there is a subtle connection to your work. You must be very proud of him!

  9. His work is great! Glad you shared it.

  10. His work is wonderful! I love his linework.
    Thanks for sharing this, Elena. What fun. : )

  11. I really like his drawings and paintings. Very talented!

  12. Brilliant! You are obviously a very talented family.

  13. The first piece you’ve featured here I think is amazing. Intricate care give to each stroke it seems. It along with the other creative drawings have been wonderful to take in.

  14. poppytump said:

    It seems that there is a natural flow and talent within the family Elena ! Wonderful art work .. your son has great talent ! Lovely website link 🙂

  15. Oh wow!!!! Love love LOVE it!!!

  16. There’s a saying about the apple falling not far from the tree!!! 🙂

  17. Very interesting work, I like

  18. mothcaterpillar said:

    Wonderful work! Congrats on your son! 🙂

  19. Interesting how the coloured pieces seem to have quite a different character to the others. The coloured pieces I think are charming and whimsical. The others I find more thought-provoking. I wasn’t sure I liked them at first but after the third pass they’ve grown on me considerably. I hope you’ll be sharing more of Julian’s work. Maybe he should start his own blog…

  20. This is really amazing, your son has a great talent, art has decided to stay in the family…
    Best wishes Elena.

  21. There is so much fabulous detail between his finely drawn lines, what a wonderful introduction!

  22. Amazingly advanced approach to structure an image.
    (Give a damn to any conventional likeliness or typical likely idea)
    What a talented sun you got.

  23. Brilliant! I really enjoyed visiting his website!

  24. Lovely work! He has lots of expression in his line and drawings, and I love the way the spaces he leaves have as much power as the lines he occupies!

  25. Nice art, seems that talent is flowing through the genes…:)

  26. These are wonderful! A very talented family!

  27. Beautiful! Very fluid and dynamic.

  28. You have a very talented son Elena! These are amazing!

  29. Great work. Thanks for sharing.

  30. Delightful!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

