ART

Irascible Grackle

bsquawk copy

The grackles are back in impressive numbers.  I’m constantly mesmerized by their iridescence and shrewd behavior.  One particular grackle inspired this watercolor. He puffed up in the cool breezes, holding firm his territory and warning his rivals to stay clear.

Comments on: "Irascible Grackle" (89)

  1. I could not possibly add any more to the lovely comments that you have already received, except to say that each one echoed my heart and mind.

  2. I almost hear,,,crack, geck, grack…
    robert

  3. Love the coloring in those feathers!

  4. Magnificent! So wonderful colors! I am filled with admiration for your gorgeous imagination!

  5. Thanks Elena.
    Whenever I look at your work a ray of light penetrates into my heart.

  6. Jane Thorne said:

    Ooohh your rich colours Elena…gorgeous. 🙂

  7. I can’t put into words how much I love this guy! What a great piece, and the perfect portrait of a grackle in both visual representation and evocation of personality. Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. 😀
    xoxo,
    Kathryn

  8. Gorgeous painting. Love the colors and texture.

  9. The colors are stunning! His feathers remind me of cosmos- a cosmic bird! 🙂

  10. poppytump said:

    Puffed up and full of himself or no …
    Very delightful you’ve made him sporting his feathered coat with such light catching colours 🙂
    Lovely Elena .

  11. Splendid work, Elena!

  12. Beautiful painting, Elena: love the shades of color in the feathers!

  13. As always inspiring… not surprise that fellow have something to sing about… 🙂

  14. LOVE THIS!!!!!!

  15. Such a strong personality here:)looks very self confident ,intimidating and adorable at the same time…all together in a very delicate balance.Excellent work as always:)

  16. Gosh, that’s stunning, Elena. I like how this grackle is all puffed up and the colours are wondrous, like rich feather jewels. I am often in awe of their shimery colors too.
    I think that grackle would love his poitrait!

  17. Ştefania said:

    Very nice you worked, dear Elena. I like it very much, both color and how you created the portrait bird.
    Congratulations!
    Have a wonderful weekend, dear Elena! Big Hugs, Ştefania! 🙂

  18. Oh Elena – this is wonderful! The colours, the form, everything about it. And this bird has such a great name!

  19. Are grackles like crows or ravens? Nicely done, did you do it in a full sheet?

    • Similar to crows and ravens to the best of my knowledge. Painted on an 11″x14″ piece of paper. Thank you Lee:)

      • Thanks, size of the work puts it into a clear perspective for me. I am doing smaller works now they use less paint and take less time…usually. When I say smaller I mean half to quarter sheets for watercolor or 18×24 or smaller for oils. It is impossible to estimate size on our blog art.

  20. Wow! The color is terrifically great! Such personality you captured!

  21. I love the depth of the colour in his plumage. This so reminds me of the illustrations that sent me spinning off into another world as a small boy. Beautiful.

  22. I love those gorgeous hues of his feathers. Exquisite work, Elena! 🙂

  23. Fabulous painting Elena!

  24. It would be extremely difficult to capture and so beautifully express this degree of ‘character’ in a photograph.

  25. lovely and dynamic!

  26. Exactly more beautiful than real one 🙂 You are amazing artist dear Elena, Thank you. Have a nice weekend, love, nia

  27. I love it, lots of attitude, beautiful colour. We don’t have grackles either, but our ravens and crows act just like this.

  28. WOW! I think that’s it.. Wow! 🙂

  29. Love the way you captured the feisty personality and beautiful iridescent feathers. Really striking.

  30. I’ve never seen this bird where I live. Beautiful colors. Thank you. I l love to watch all kinds of birds…my feathered friends. 🙂

  31. Love that ‘don’t mess with me look’ and the way you’ve captured the vibrant iridescence.

  32. I think I’d stay clear of him if I were a bird.

  33. The colors streaked through those feathers are gorgeous. Wonderful painting.

  34. Wao ! Impressive work.
    Now your birds photography is having fruits on the drawing.
    Puffed-up feathers and its color were so well captured.

  35. Exquisite painting. You captured his personality well, Elena.

  36. Fabulous! Wonderful colours.

  37. O Wow! Love this!

  38. Feisty! Gorgeous blue-blacks.

  39. Love those darks, fabulous colors Elena!

  40. Wonderful work… 🙂

  41. Wow, I love that. Captures the always somewhat unsettling nature of catching a grackle’s eye.

  42. So alive, lovely painting!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

