ART

Young

 

bjim copy

A new series.  I’m not sure how many pieces I want to make or how far I want to take it, but this series is pretty straight forward.  It’s about being very young-on the brink of adulthood. It’s not about nostalgia, but instead an unflinching look at the close to the surface intensity of older teens and very early twenty somethings. I’m only painting cropped heads, and facial features, asserting the unfiltered expressions of these hauntingly beautifully fresh faces.

Comments on: "Young" (88)

  1. I have been looking over your portraits – the ones have seen, while checking for posts I have missed. What strikes and impresses me is how the emotional intensity of the portraits captures me each time I view them. So full of life & inner thought, there is always something fresh & powerful when you come upon them again. 🙂

  2. Another beautiful work,dear Elena! Full of life. Really beautiful❤️

  3. There is a special intensity here, it’s touching.
    robert

  4. Jane Thorne said:

    Oh Elena, on the cusp of gaining awareness, so beautifully captured by your brush… ❤

  5. settleandchase said:

    So much in this Elena..there’s something very tender in the gold parts of the hair, like childhood fading almost, it’s very touching. Absolutely that essence of still being held but also setting foot into adult life..the weight and energy of it..love it.

  6. Hauntingly beautiful face!

  7. mothcaterpillar said:

    wow! I’m looking forward to seeing more!

  8. Another great series full of life and atmosphere, looking forward to see them all as always. Inspiring! I painted proper portrait with an artist I like over 9 hours recently It was great experience and I’ll upload it soon. It is rewarding and taught me alot about painting that can help in many other fields it is amazing. Love your porraits with full carachter x

  9. Very vivid! as if he is about to speak! Very well done!

  10. Oh my!! The hair, the shadows, the expression…cannot stop looking!

  11. So vivid eyes…A face of someone who does not know any bounds…portrait is speaking for himself,great work!

  12. Almost frightening presence ! I know a guy looks exactly like this.

  13. Fantastic, Elena. You do amazing portraits.

  14. Beautiful, Elena. The light on his hair is wonderful.

  15. I have no interest in images of males, as you know… but this is beautiful (:

  16. Pretty damn good!

  17. Such a great idea for a series, Elena. a brilliant and beautiful start!

  18. Just amazing !

  19. splendid work. more more.

  20. perfectly captured ‘on the brink’ as you describe! Beautiful work.

  21. Holy Cow, that looks exactly like my son! Very nice work by the way 🙂

  22. poppytump said:

    A compelling look there in this portrait Elena !
    Like everyone else I’m looking forward to more of another of your fascinating series .

  23. Brilliant! Caught on the cusp so perfectly.

  24. exiledprospero said:

    Sensational, Elena. So impressive.

  25. I can see this is going to be another exceptional series of paintings, Elena. Kudos on a brilliant beginning! 🙂

  26. A nother superb portrait of Julian, Elena. I’ll look forward to this series!

  27. Sounds like an interesting series. Can’t wait to see the rest. You have a great start here!

  28. I love the way you have stated your intention and how you have carried it out so perfectly.

  29. This is amazing! I’m looking forward to see more of the series! Stunning work, Elena.

  30. Elena, I love his expression! I can’t wait to see the rest of your paintings in this series! I know one expression my 17 and 15 year-olds do is the “eye-roll….” 🙂 Have fun!

  31. Always amazing work Elena! There’s so many expressions for this stage of life…will so look forward to seeing as your collection grows!

  32. Excellent play of colours on the face, Elena! The look is one I sport often, so you’ve definitely captured the twenty-something. : )

    • Thanks so much Millie. There’s something about older teens and young adults that is inherently beautiful. You certainly are. Even though I’m muuuuch older, the feeling of that time is very fresh in my heart and mind.

  33. Miss Hava said:

    Gorgeaus! Having a son of 15 myself, I can totally see what´s so fascinating about that age: you still see the child, but in the same time the man he is perhaps going to be. You caught that very well.
    May I ask if you use oil paint?

  34. Im so envious of your talent for paint. You know, these faces are spectacular.
    Would you consider doing a commition piece.

    • Sure, I take on commissions. The tough part is the photo shoot. I like to shoot the reference myself and geographical constraints are often an obstacle. Thanks for asking and thank you for your lovely comment.

  35. This is going to be a fantastic series Elena. This first up painting (son maybe?) illustrates exactly what you described as your goal – beautiful painting shows the awkward period of stepping into adulthood. Love it and looking forward to more of the fresh faces!

  36. Wow! I’m looking forward to seeing more of these. 🙂

  37. Great idea! Capture the potential… Brilliant stuff!

  38. You certainly captured the ‘surface intensity’. Well done.

  39. Wow! Amazing color and vibrancy.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

