ART

Young II

bbetsy copy                                   Second in the “Young Series”                                                                              oil 11″x14″

Comments on: "Young II" (90)

  1. Beautiful work…Beautiful expression of face.

  2. Voila…A fine, rare, subtle moment, moments from my past and times stirred up, looking at her, pondering what was me like…?!!

  3. Wow this painting is amazing !

  4. You’ve captured the “teenage girl” look. Congrats! I see it often, but never captured in a beautiful watercolor painting. You really did wonders with her facial expression.

  5. Ah, so realistic! Love all the colors❤️❤️❤️
    Beautiful as always❤️

  6. Elena I cannot get over the realistic colors in her hair…like in a photo…perfection!

  7. I am speechless. Wow, amazing. I had to look at this piece once again, the detail, the color and composition are incredible. Fantastic!

  8. Wow! I love it… Great work, as usual!

  9. Jane Thorne said:

    Magical truculence! ❤

  10. Nice and original pose! Look very good the colors you used too!

  11. This is brilliant!! Makes me want to go back to my old artistic ways 🙂

  12. settleandchase said:

    Oh, just as it is, as it felt..brilliant.

  13. that looks so real 🙂

  14. Those soft strands of hair falling over her forehead..and that expression! How do you do it Elena!

  15. Oh my! Absolutely gorgeous Elena!

  16. Ah, she’s figuratively chewing on something. You capture that expression so well.

  17. Oh, I think I’ve seen that expression before. : )
    This is just wonderful, Elena. Perfection.

  18. I’m sure this is such a repeat from other comments…but that expression is so right on! What a gift you have!

  19. A wonderful and expressive portrait. It’s so rich and detailed.

  20. mothcaterpillar said:

    wow! the details are amazing! makes me feel young again 🙂

  21. I love the expression. Superb as always Elena! Is this your daughter? She’s very pretty.

  22. So beautiful, she is definitely my favourite in the young series so far!

  23. elmediat said:

    Excellent. 🙂 Reminds me a bit of that expression the young American Olympian had when winning a medal.

  24. Wow, Elena! that expression is everything … beautifully done

  25. Oh, how I have missed viewing your gorgeous art. So happy to see this!! So astonishing, really!!

  26. A superb expression of being ambivalent!

  27. This series almost haunt me. 🙂

  28. How beautifully you’ve captured the moment. Impeccable portrait. 🙂

  29. I’m really enjoying this series – this is superb! A brilliant stolen moment.

  30. This is clearly going to be a stunning series. Capturing the inner machinations of the adolescent mind is quite a challenge!

  31. Quelle belle expression!

  32. I understand that tongue and cheek! Gorgeous, as usual.

  33. This expression is so awesome! She is beautiful! You have such a gift for doing portraits, Elena! 🙂

  34. poppytump said:

    Love this moment . An expression many of us will perhaps be familiar with 🙂
    Gorgeous painting Elena .

    • Many of us remember of have kids, or young family members. Probably a universal:) Or maybe not-there’s and idea for a cross cultural project! Thanks so much Poppy!

  35. Another gorgeous painting, Elena. How long, typically, does a painting like this take you to complete?

    • Some take days, others maybe four or five hrs. Can’t explain why-some just click automatically and other I really have to work for. Thanks so much Jill.

  36. You’re portraying an interesting age, on the cusp of adulthood, but not quite. I see the downcast eyes portraying some uncertainty, not quite wanting to look at the world full on. There’s vulnerability here.

  37. Elena has done it again! The blonde hair is spectacular. I remember the first day I realized that you needed to add dark colours to fair hair to make it more three-dimensional. A great discovery that you’ve captured here.

  38. Gorgeous work Elena. Wonderful skin tones, but what I can’t get over is how perfect you’ve captured her expression.

  39. You are a true artist! Each one of your posts are magnificent works 🙂

  40. exiledprospero said:

    Do you work from a photograph, Elena? These oils are so animated and life-like. Remarkable, really.

  41. Wow, these colors are just glowing. Gorgeous eyelashes and stray hairs. Such a quiet painting but full of personality!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

