ART

Falling and Dancing

bfall1

That’s what I’ve been doing-falling and dancing, dancing and falling.   I’m painting with a fervent urgency.  In the past month, I have worked through eight oil paintings.  Four I’ve discarded, four are still in play.  I’ll share with you what remains viable when I finish.

The transition of seasons reflects my process, lately.  I’m hoping that pruning work that fails to stretch me this fall will result in stronger work come spring. Hope the new season inspires your creativity as well.

Comments on: "Falling and Dancing" (48)

  1. Remarkable creative endurance & output. The results are captivating , full of emotional resonance This post is an apt metaphor of process & artistic focus .

  2. To me it’s amazing with all this energy you show. And I believe you have already shown some of these paintings. And even as a photographer you come up with lovely images – such as this. Surely shows the transition of seasons.

  3. Jane Thorne said:

    I too have started some only to discard them, it’s an autumnal re-birth I feel. Much energy for your creativity over there Elena. ❤

  4. You have such a wonderful, vibrant energy Elena!

  5. Your painting work sounds very physical – at least that’s the vision I have – maybe I feel that way due to the cool winds blowing in, or maybe I’m just jealous, as writing involved too much sitting – I should probably get a treadmill desk 🙂 Lovely photo.

    • 🙂 Some standing, working on big paintings. More frustration with false starts and some disappointing finishes. But I’m keeping on:) I like the idea of a treadmill desk! Thanks, James.

  6. settleandchase said:

    Fantastic to hear of you working away over there. Autumn is always a really productive time I think, after the laze inducing heat of summer..enjoy it!

  7. There are special colours now around us…
    robert

  8. Lovely photograph – thanks for the wishes – looking forward to seeing your new work, Elena!

  9. I love your description of what you’ve been doing, Elena. The dance of art-making…
    And a delicate drawing by nature, beautiful!

  10. I like the free flowing movement of the natural composition, the palette, the pattern of this image. I like too the parallel with the experiences you express in the text.

  11. I suddenly found I had written an autumn poem today. It didn’t start out that way. I am looking forward to seeing your latest pictures as and when.

  12. I love the colors you captured in this photo! It is such an interesting time of year, full of possibilities. Looking forward to seeing what you’ve been up to!

  13. Sounds like a creative battle, Elena!!!!! Can’t wait to see the outcome! 🙂

  14. Falling is good. You have to find your way back up and sometimes it is a new path that gets you there. Falling or dancing your work is always inspirational. I can’t even run with scissors let alone dance with a brush!

  15. I just can’t wait to see! ♥

  16. With every fall a great accomplishment follows. Enjoy the changing season and the beauty it brings. We will all be here awaiting your next masterpiece. 🙂

  17. I can’t wait to see your work! And I love to see someone dancing and taking the risk of falling once in a while. 🙂

  18. Good luck with your painting! Can’t wait to see the finished product.

  19. I’ve been wondering where you’ve been. Can’t wait to see your latest offerings.

  20. Your strategy makes sense, though it can be tough to abandon works. Can’t wait to see what makes it through the pruning!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

