ART

Linear Arrangements

bonthephone copy

11″x14″ Charcoal, Oil on Canvas

I rarely focus on line when I paint.  Instead, I most often concentrate on seeing and representing values in their various shapes and hues.  But, I’m forever looking for ways to change up my point of view.  This painting is a result of one of those change-ups.

Comments on: "Linear Arrangements" (64)

  1. It does show a different side of your art work than we usually see. I like – and I like your willingness to experiment. I agree with the previous comment that you are good at changing your artistic approach.

  2. Very nice portrait! Expressive! Differs slightly in style, but well done.
    I like very much, Elena! 🙂

  3. Learning so much from you Elena, and your style is still so much in evidence within these great lines!

  4. Oh yes, different but no less wonderful. It feels very modern, like the subject, I think. Beautiful.

  5. With a few lines you can create magic Elena. Just look at that expression!

  6. I like the idea here. It draws things forward that are often shadowed giving it a minimalistic fill in the blank approach…

  7. I like it, Elena! Very bold.

  8. So love that you change things up and keep us yearning for more!

  9. Taken to like a duck to water! I find it so difficult to switch a style that suits, so I am inordinately jealous of that 😉 As others have said, there’s a whole new dimension and excitement to this. Bravo!

    • Conversely, Steven-I often wish I could stick to one identifying style:) Thank you!

      • Well your work seems enjoyably synergic and unique to me 🙂 Indeed, I think it’s important to have that one ‘ace in the pack’ when it comes to a style, but I have special admiration for those who are versatile with it, like yourself.

        I’ve a friend who spins that old phrase ‘jack of all trades and master of none’ into ‘jack of all trades and master of ONE’. I think that’s a nice way of looking at it.

      • Well said Steven, and thank you:)

  10. OMG is THAT what it is!!! Ah Ha! I can’t DO the lines, therefore I cannot paint! Yes, I am still ‘struggling’ with drawing or painting. I didn’t really understand values either, now I think I am seeing it! Not sure if enough for me to DO anything with it yet, but glimmers of education are welcomed!

  11. Il n’y a que les fous qui ne change pas d’avis… J’aime vôtre travail …!!!

  12. poppytump said:

    So striking and boldly perfect Elena ! Another expression to ponder over … how DO you do it 🙂

  13. — yet showing even stronger 3D effect !
    And very vivid !

  14. Love her expression… As always, love your work. ♥

  15. I love her expression. 🙂

  16. Wonderful painting, love the details in her face and the contrast between the hair and the skin tones.

  17. Wow! That’s so interesting, and of course the face and hand are beautiful. So, how long does something like this take you? (And what size are they, on average)? Inquiring minds and all that!

  18. The subject totally reminds me of my younger cousin and her expressions. Your portraits are always brought to life with how wonderfully you paint the flesh and eyes–something I truly love about your work.

  19. Whatever the change-up, you do it so well, Elena, as if you were doing it for years! 🙂

  20. Brilliant combination of different techniques,wonderful work! 🙂

  21. This seems to be a fusion of styles. I look forward to seeing other examples.

  22. There’s a really interesting toughness to this. A real vigour. As if she could reach out of the picture and grab you. I like it a lot.

  23. mothcaterpillar said:

    wow! excellent style!

  24. Beautiful. You have a great style!

  25. Simply brilliant! 🙂

  26. This is so different from your lately work Elena , but I like it. Taking new ways, exploring and looking further than “our noses” is a precondition for a new, fresh art. It keeps us going…..Looking forward to see your next work!

  27. Ah, she’s beautiful!!

  28. Definitely like your change-up, always an inspiration – the lines add a whole other dimension to your painting.

  29. Lovely work Elena. You seem to have a knack for being able to change up your approach to art. I find it is something I have to really work at.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

