ART

Ponytailed

 

bponytail

Oil on Canvas 16″ x 20″ Alla Prima

More backlight practice.

Comments on: "Ponytailed" (70)

  1. Wow! I have truly never seen a blog like this one before, but I thoroughly enjoyed it due to its different type of approach. I found the backlighting in your pictures to be perfect for representing the emotion of the picture. You definitely have a gift when coming to painting portraits. Your use a light and color is what truly makes each picture so beautiful. are any of the people in these paintings somebody that you personally know?

  2. Oh I like this very much Elena… a little bit of a departure.. the style is so relaxed..

  3. Lovely!! So loose!

  4. elmediat said:

    Wonderful classic style to your work. You always convey emotions, what ever the range/type, in a powerful manner. 🙂

  5. Love the contrast in the colors, warm and cold.
    robert

  6. Jane Thorne said:

  7. A wonderful profile. The expression on her face definitely speaks to me.

  8. Another elegant backlit beauty. Magic!

  9. I see whole story arcs in these gorgeous results to your mere practises. (:

  10. I love her face. Her concern on her face. You are so prolific. All your work is so wonderful.

  11. Another gorgeous art…The clashes she’s been experiencing are hanging over the painting.This is the way it effects me..You are amazing at making the paintings alive,I feel them so close to my heart. 🙂

  12. The subtlety of the light playing on your model’s hair is what really makes this one for me Elena – wonderful work.

  13. So glad I found your blog. I love your work! Just beautiful ~Rita

  14. I love these backlight pieces! Lovely work!

  15. I love the broad strokes and the juxtaposition of warm/cool hues: great work, Elena!

  16. Backlight does wonders for profile portraits, as you’ve clearly demonstrated here. I’d love some tips on how you take photos of your paintings. Sometimes I get a smudge of flash that I can certainly do without 🙂

    • Unfortunately, my backlit photos are hit or miss. And, I miss on a regular basis. I don’t however, use any flash at all. I just try to light (with a full spectrum light), as best I can. Thanks, Millie:)

  17. Wonderful work, Elena!

  18. I love these backlit portraits! You have so much talent!

  19. Love the glow of background light, and what a beautiful girl.

    (All your girls are beautiful!)

  20. settleandchase said:

    So beautiful. You always jump out in the line Elena, instantly know it’s you..

  21. Wonderful practice Elena. Beautiful harmony with the background moving to the foreground, the backlight is working on all sides of her w/perfect balance of values. Great example to study.

  22. This is just lovely Elena! The practice is certainly paying off! 🙂

  23. the romanticism in subtleties is remarkably evident and wow!

  24. So amazing. You really have a gift for painting portraits, Elena. 🙂 Wonderful light.

  25. Another gorgeous portrait! I really like the sense of trepidation.

  26. Beautifully poised and reflective

  27. Ah, Elena, beautiful portrait! 🙂 xx

  28. Carol baldwin said:

    Lovely!

  29. The backlighting works very well here, in going with the mood and setting it up for richer, deeper hues. Nice one.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

