ART

Absorbed

Working

Alla Prima 8″x 10″

I’ve been absorbed-finishing up some new work and painting over some old work.  I hope to post new paintings and also hope to be visiting your blogs very soon.

Happy Spring!

This painting is the third effort to inhabit this canvas.

Comments on: "Absorbed" (74)

  1. Hi Elena, I’m sorry, I can’t believe I haven’t visited your blog since the spring. I don’t know why but your posts haven’t been coming up in my Reader. I’ve got so much catching up to do, but I’m really looking forward to it. 🙂

  2. You are a master of highlight and shadow!

  3. Jane Thorne said:

    ❤ Elena xXx

  4. The light and angle reveal so much.

  5. I love the light coming from behind and the right bringing out the forms of the lovely, contemplating face.

  6. Don’t know why but my past likes disappeared! 😦 I like them again! 🙂

  7. Was this a self portrait?

  8. Would you care to comment on my recent attempt ?. Your the teacher so dont be gentle

  9. Your command of values and color is ..wow. Can I copy your work ? for learning 😉

  10. Wonderful,expressive work.Her bleak mood is penetrating.I love looking at it,what it means to me.Great art as always Elena 🙂

  11. Beautiful handling of light and shadow.

  12. Wonderful lighting, Elena! This is such a lovely portrait.
    Happy Spring! 🙂

  13. poppytump said:

    A stillness and completely absorbed yes ….. so lovely how you’ve achieved this moment Elena .

  14. I’m enjoying this series of paintings greatly.

    “ζωγραφίαν ποίησιν σιωπῶσαν προσαγορεύει [sc. ὁ Σιμωνίδης], τὴν δὲ ποίησιν ζωγραφίαν λαλοῦσαν.” – Simonides of Ceos
    [usually tr. as ‘Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks.’]

  15. This was clearly what was meant to be on this canvas! I love the simplicity of form, so much is said with only a small part of the face. Beautifully done Elena.

  16. Always amazing art when I come here and to know there’s new coming? Yes!

  17. This is so, so beautiful! Don’t ever paint over this one Elena.

  18. I really like the way you’ve inhabited this! Very intense. Happy Spring, Elena!

  19. she’s lovely. hoping you know that. 🙂 your talent amazes me! Have a fabulous weekend, Elena. xx

  20. I love the lighting in this one, Elena! How DO you do it? You are so talented! 🙂

  21. This is just plain fabululous!! ~Rita

  22. The pose of the sitter in this portrait presents a particular challenge. The strong lighting divides the picture diagonally and creates a dense shadow that covers at least half of the canvas. At the same time it frames, and focuses our attention on, (and perhaps emphasises) the delicate, backlit features of the subject.. It is very effective.

  23. po prostu piękny portret

  24. Awesome portrait work Elena – the way you handled the lighting is brilliant!!!

  25. This one strikes me as particularly special. It must be the hair that you have captured so perfectly. Also young women, still unsure of their worth and beauty, often use that turn-of-head, downward with their hair falling across their lovely faces.

    • Ah, this model’s hair always interests me-such a gorgeous natural color. Yes, Susan you are so right. That turn of the head is classic in this age group. Thank you so much:)

  26. Happy Spring dear Elena, beautiful painting, Thank you, have a nice day, and weekend, love, nia

  27. Superb portrait Elena. I love that back lighting creating the shadow. Fabulous!

  28. While hiding the eyes, the face still looks like deep in the self.
    It’s in fact, a great skill to draw Elena !

  29. Breathtakingly beautiful! Love it

  30. That hair is perfect!

  31. claudialasetzki said:

    Very goog – like always!!! 🙂
    Elena, could you please give me your email address. I want to talk to you about having you in one of my blog category – “Blogs I love”! Thank you! 🙂

  32. Very nice, and appropriately titled! I love how you said the painting was “inhabiting” the canvas. WOW!

  33. Backlighting always wins me over, and you did another great job of it here. The narrow light on the side with the opposite (third?) black or nearly black, makes her profile really pop.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

