ART

Movement And Light

bLeanintothelight copy

Oil on Linen 18″x 24″

Movement and light are my subjects in this painting.  Or should I say, the joy of both.

Comments on: "Movement And Light" (84)

  1. Lieber Gruß und ein gutes week-end Gruß und Umarmung Gislinde

  2. Definitely ‘In the Moment’! I love the highlights of motion on the shirt and hair. Great!

  3. Intense and joyful … SO feeling it ..
    Lovely Elena !

  4. a dynamic pleasure ! she dances with pleasure and you dance with your brushes! a great pleasure to see that!

  5. I have the sense that she is being ‘filled up’, filled by light, breeezes, stillness.
    Utterly gorgeous.

    (I apologize for my long absence, I’ve been lost in the summer…)

  6. This is beautiful! I love paintings with movement!

  7. Definitely this portrait is filled with joy!!! 🙂 Attractive light’s interaction with elegant movement…What an amazing interpretation 🙂

  8. settleandchase said:

    Complete beauty, as always..I like how it seems as if she is still facing a little into the shadows too, not quite fully in the light. It’s just lovely Elena.

  9. You really have some nice stuff on this blog. Quite a talent you have there.

  10. This is particularly lovely, Elena. One of my favourites of yours. It has a great energy.
    Also… you have a post up on ‘strata of the self’:
    https://strataoftheself.wordpress.com/2015/09/17/elena-caravela-restless/

  11. Really amazing, Elena. Can’t imagine how you capture not only the light but the wrinkles in her shirt and the muscular neck and collarbone. So well done.

  12. A very expressive portrait. I love the energy it radiates.

  13. Wonderful. Movement, light… and everything else you paint. I love your work!

    Have a great week!

  14. Such an ethereal one! So light of spirit and touch. Lovely. Uplifting. xoxo!

  15. Great work, Elena! I really admire how you paint the face in (near) profile. The nose is so hard to paint, but you make it look effortless.

  16. Besides that it is a gorgeous painting, what a beautiful feeling you have created!

  17. mothcaterpillar said:

    the subject of this painting is the joy itself 🙂

  18. I love this!

  19. Beautiful! The joy and enjoyment of movement and light are tenderly captured!

  20. And the joy of both is beautifully reflected on her face 🙂 Excellent work, Elena!

  21. Perfectly captured! Love the physicality of this painting – you can almost feel her moving. Really great.

  22. Beautiful (again)… easily a book cover/representative of an entire story.

  23. … and beauty.

  24. How wonderful that you are as happy with this beautiful work as your audience is!

  25. Definitely the joy of both Elena. I love your use of green contrasted with the girl’s warm skin tones, beautiful….

  26. oh soo nice, I love the light

  27. Beautiful and ethereal. I love the whites!

  28. What a wonderful portrayal of the joy of both. Terrific! ~Rita

  29. I would add one more subject to describe this painting, Elena, and that would be GRACE. I was holding my breath when looking at the painting without realizing it, such beautiful work!

  30. I like your choice of light direction to enhance the sense of movement. Had the light have been coming from top right instead of top left the effect would have been quite different and would have greatly reduced the feeling of movement.

  31. An intriguing pose – while the light captures her hair, back and gorgeous neck line, you bring curiosity to her face in shadow. It’s fascinating to see how your subtle strokes bring about movement. Wonderful ~

  32. Another stunning portrait Elena. I love the way you’ve captured the light in the picture! The luminosity is dazzling! Superb work as every!

  33. You nailed both! Brava!

  34. There is a flow in this…almost in a mediation or dream or play!

  35. What I’m very aware of here is MOVEMENT. The piece almost seemed alive on the page!

  36. Excellent work – love it… 🙂

  37. exiledprospero said:

    The worry seems to have evaporated. The mood is ethereal. It’s interesting that within the confines of a static picture a teeming sense of activity is felt: a vibrant daydream. In any case, the work is uplifting.

  38. Another beauty!! I was looking forward to seeing this after yesterday’s post.

  39. I totally agree with you: the joy of both! 🙂

  40. Beautiful painting. I love the composition and the dream-like quality it possesses.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

