ART

The Haunting

Bcloaked copy

 

One of several paintings haunting me.  I’m holding myself to higher standards lately, hanging onto nearly finished pieces, putting them aside for weeks, seeing them anew and correcting.  Only after many improvements, am I letting them go.

There are a couple more waiting to be released…soon…maybe..;)

Comments on: "The Haunting" (106)

  1. The eyes and your face expressly gripping and the shadow in the back is awesome!

    Great painting Elena. 🙂

  2. Hi Elena, I am so sorry to hear about your pinched nerve. Those things are dreadful. I hope the issue will soon resolve itself. Between selling a house and moving, I have been away from WordPress for a while. I missed your wonderful paintings! Warm wishes, Marian

  3. How I admire the expressive quality.Look at those eyes,the shadow of the eyelid!Amazing.The sharp piercing look builds a hidden conversation with the viewer.Immediately draws attention,arises questions,so hard to fathom out the mystery.Great art Elena!

  4. There is so much mystery in this face, fabulous…
    robert

  5. settleandchase said:

    I love to hear of you digging in..this is so worth it – how haunting and compelling she is..so many ways to read her. I love how the black is not all so black too, something is living and breathing in here for sure..

  6. Wow. This is amazing. I can’t take my eyes off it. Totally captivating!~Rita

  7. Beautifully haunting!

  8. Haunting and absolutely amazing!

  9. Elena, I am speechless! This one will stay with me for a while is all I can say.

  10. Definitely haunting and powerful. I understand the desire to hold yourself to a higher standard, though I’m not sure I’d be able tell if something of yours failed to meet any high standard. They are always terrific, but I do the same with my writing (not that you’d be able to tell with my current goofy post – some fine art on display). I think the older and more experienced we get, having struggled with whatever our chosen media is, the more we realize that the quality we seek only comes with intense patience.

  11. Ooooh! Love this.
    Black velvet richness and mystery.

  12. An ivory face emerging from the shadows – there is no single shade of the black; it has much depth and distance. The mystery seems to go on forever.

    An art teacher of mine once said that before you finish a piece, hold it in front of the mirror. I’ve found more than once that the picture you see tells you a different story.

    • VEry wise, Aubrey. I use the mirror, turning the painting upside down, taking photos of it, to change perception while working on every painting. Thanks so much.

  13. Very striking! Your work is the best, thank you!

  14. Magnificent! You are fascinating!

  15. So beautiful and impressive. Fascinated me, dear Elena, Thank you, love, nia

  16. Wonderful – such a fabulous series, full of mystery and emotion.

  17. Well ok, but I don’t see how your standards can be any higher! But of course as the artist you know what you are looking for. Haunting is just the right word for this. Haunting and compelling.

  18. A stunning piece of work Elena, your tenacity and discipline is an inspiration to us all. I admire your ability to stand back and question, re-evaluate and then push the limits. You’re an inspiration ~

    • Mary, I’ve just been visiting YOUR blog. I reflect your words back deservedly to you. Thank you:)

      • You are a gracious lady my friend, thank you so much Elena and for the incredible visits you paid my blog today. Your words of encouragement and support stay right with me – it inspires me to keep on, keeping on. Hope you are continuing to mend – your work is incredibly brilliant in execution, can’t wait to see the other pieces.

  19. I absolutely love this, Elena, it’s magical and breathtaking. You have a good strategy to let the work wait a bit before finishing, and come back several times to make improvements and corrections, I like that attitude.

  20. mothcaterpillar said:

    absolutely beautiful! can’t wait to see the rest!

  21. I can’t wait to see the other unfinished pieces. Well done. Cheers Markus

  22. Wonderful, Elena. Love the weight you’ve brought to the image. Interesting that you are working slower.

  23. Perfect name! Just gorgeous!

  24. Superb, Elena. Wonderful lighting, composition, and expression

  25. Pretty damn perfect.

  26. Good to see you and this fab piece, Elena. I like the way the face comes out from the darkness.

  27. Powerful expression! Love it.

  28. This is beautiful and strong!!!

  29. I like the way you painted the face coming out of the darkness. It is a beautiful image.

  30. Hauntingly beautiful indeed…. Is she in mourning? Your talent knows no bounds Elena..

  31. Wait. What?! This is insane, Elena! So
    So
    Stunning!

  32. Very effective indeed – well titled – and the face occupies less than one eighth of the canvas! I hope you’re restored to good health.

  33. You are the queen of chiaroscuro and the 3 R’s; Review, Reflect, Revisit. Practice makes perfect. Well done.

  34. …. the chiaroscuro here is so dramatic and spellbinding

  35. Tremendous! Beautiful light and shade here. 🙂

  36. A stunning painting Elena! it’s difficult to see how you can possibly be holding yourself to a higher standard given the exceptionally high standard you always work to!

  37. poppytump said:

    I found myself looking at this for quite some time Elena …. her secrets are held close …
    Beautiful .

  38. This is beautiful. The evocative face emerging from the darkness is extremely effective and powerful.

  39. Wow! Your talent never ceases to amaze me.

  40. Truly a stunning piece. I like the contrast between the black and the light on her face.

  41. In my eyes, what haunting is the delusion this woman got inside of her.
    Your blush captured it almost unconsciously.

  42. Beautiful, beautiful use of black! I love how the light falls on her face.

  43. That’s my biggest bugaboo… holding myself back to reflect.

  44. Your method makes a lot of sense. I do it a lot, too, and have felt better about the results after revising. Best of luck with future projects. xo

  45. Aptly named. You capture emotion so well!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

