ART

A Passive Upbraiding

 

thebraidlg copy

Oil on Linen with Gold Leaf 16″ x 20″

braid23

Beginning 1 & 2

Hair: meaningful in so many traditions and cultures.  The way that we wear it may be a statement, a passive rebellion, an identifier, an obsession, a tabu or even a code.  It’s a point of pride and a worry, and it’s oh so personal.  It’s meaningful to me and so much fun to paint.  That’s why I wish I had kept this piece simpler, as in the early stages (directly above).  I may go back and make a drawing or an alla prima of this composition in the near future.

Comments on: "A Passive Upbraiding" (90)

  1. Matt Harvey said:

    I love the finished painting and the glazes are really beautiful

  2. Sorry I haven’t been over here for so long. I lost track of you.
    I like all these pieces, but the final one speaks to me the most so I for one am not sorry that you didn’t keep it simple. Lovely, powerful, evocative.

  3. So beautiful!

  4. Each stage of this work is stunning!
    The meaning does change as the work changes and it’s so interesting to see that happen. The light, shadow and tones are breathtaking! Wow.

  5. There’s so much life to your paintings, Elena. I love how you’ve brought out the contours of her face through your superb understanding of the principles of light.

    • You’ve given me a little too much credit, Uday. My search for the principals of light is often a hit or miss journey. But, I’m trying. I’m honored, because you indeed have the light principal in your back pocket. Thank you so very, very much:)

  6. Stunning as always Elena! Beautiful.

  7. settleandchase said:

    I wish I didn’t have to gush on a blog but in real life, so you’d see how much I meant it..! 🙂 It’s funny, before I had read your words I first saw the large picture and was completely in love with it, it’s just so rich and reverent, and the colours are spectacular – I scrolled down though and was amazed at the early sketch – it’s like the essence of the main distilled.. so powerful, both! So interesting, it’s often the same all over, how you go all along a road only to arrive back at the beginning!

    • Oh, isn’t is so? I can’t tell you how many times I should have left well enough alone:) Thanks so much, Cath. I truly appreciate your comments!

  8. Totally gorgeous. The face and those hands! Really love the early stages you showed, too. You really capture so much feeling in your paintings.

  9. OH my GOD! This is GORGEOUS!! I am SO thrilled! I LOVE it!!! ***
    -Carmen Cacalano
    https://cacalanostudios.wordpress.com Paintings.

  10. There is such a special light on her face…amazing!
    robert

  11. The final piece is stunning. But I too like the simpler forms, and I agree it may be worth re-visiting – especially because you feel inspired to do so. It’s a powerful image.

    It’s interesting how as artists we feel the mission of what we are creating, and sometimes, though others admire the piece, we feel dissatisfied – like it’s unfinished or didn’t capture the essence of that mission. I’ve gone back to images many times and either redone them or retouched the original, and without fail the final piece was even more well received by others too.

  12. That’s an incredible piece, Elena. A masterpiece.

  13. This is a very strong portrait!

  14. I like so much!

  15. Each of these is perfection…so much beauty you create!

  16. I understand exactly what you mean, Elena. The charcoal is just perfect and -to me- complete, yet each stage, to the final piece is also wonderfully done and well, perfect! I’m so glad you kept record of those stages…

  17. Stunning, Elena! Just brilliant.

  18. It is so beautiful. It reminded me the self portrait of Delacroix.

  19. This is very beautiful Elena – the translucency of her skin is delicious. The charcoal drawing stands alone as a lovely piece too.

  20. Gosh Elena…awesome!!!

  21. Beautiful work and I love how you did her face and skin.

  22. Beautiful Elena – her face is angelic and elegant. The gold leaf sets about a bit of sparkle or rather warmth with her skin. I know what you mean about the hair, but in this case there is a story coming from your canvas – I would leave this piece as perfect as it is. An amazing portrait.

  23. I think this piece is perfect just the way it is, Elena. No changes or second guessing required.

  24. There is a distinctly spiritual dimension about this portrait. Beautifully done.

  25. Stunning, Elena. A fabulous painting!

  26. This is a spectacular painting. Wow!

  27. Once again, your lighting work is exceptional. Her face really comes off the screen — it has a third dimensional feel. I like seeing the earlier versions. It’s fun to see a bit of the process.

    • Jeff, I’m unable to leave a comment on your new beautifully formatted site. Just wanted to say that I love the new “being alone” series. Gorgeous. Thanks for your lovely comment.

  28. Amazing portrait! Congratulations! Extraordinarily well done!
    Thank you dear Elena to make known to us!
    Have a great day! ❤ 🙂

  29. It reminds of a Patron Saint of Braids type painting. Very nice!!

  30. It is a gorgeous work. I so appreciate that which I have no ability to do 🙂 Lovely.

  31. I see your point, but it is still very beautiful

  32. Oh my! Spectacular on so many fronts.

    My friend, have you ever seen the film, The Best Offer? It’s set inside the fine art world, and the main protagonist (an auctioneer) has a “special room” hidden away in his home where he hangs all his master female portraits. For that scene alone it’s worth watching.

  33. Something magic in her look… And a so beautiful face… congratulations !

  34. This is not only gorgeous, but her facial expression is incredible. Saying “Well done” is too small.

  35. Oh ! It’s coming close to the old master’s Saint figure !

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

