ART

“Julian” Oil on Canvas 30″ x  40″

It’s been quite a while since I’ve dabbled in the world of WordPress.  So, all week long I’ll be posting a backlog of paintings beginning with this one.  It’s a near to life sized portrait of my son, Julian; composer, arranger, singer/songwriter, musician, writer, teacher, and visual artist.  Below are links to a partial catalog of Julian’s work:

Julian’s twelve and counting, independently written, performed, produced albums: Band Camp Julian Cartwright  (album artwork included).

A performance and interview    Julian’s spoken word work on Sound Cloud.

And his visual art.

A shout out to all of my blogger friends.  I look forward to visiting you this week to see what you’ve been up to.

Comments on: "A Portrait of Artistic Multimodality" (44)

  1. This is beautiful. and I really like Julian’s work. Hope you’re having a good week, Elena!

  2. settleandchase said:

    Just been looking through Julian’s work, musical and visual – what a talented guy he is, his work is fascinating and so original – I’ll be back to look/listen again! And it’s a great portrait too, great to see you Elena!

    • Hi Cath! Thank you! You, like Julian are at very least a triple threat with your music, images and words, so I’m pleased that you enjoyed his work:)

  3. so much talent in your family! must be very fulfilling just to hang out with each other.

  4. What a fantastic introduction of your son, Elena. So much art in the family! 🙂

  5. I love your paintings Elena and it’s a joy to ‘see’ you again. Julian’s voice is melodic. Xx

  6. I love this one, Elena. How he seems to be a part of the background, his surroundings.

  7. A portrait painted with love ❤ And your son is really a multi-faceted artist!

  8. I have missed you Elena, but you have clearly been busy! There is a lot of energy in this painting, Julian looks as though he is ready to leap up and get back to work! The paintings behind give a great backdrop.

  9. Hi Elelna, it’s good to see you back. What a fabulous post this is – and very appropriately titled! That portrait must be absolutely stunning at life size. J followed up the links to Julian’s work. He is a very versatile musician and I loved his abstract paintings. I felt a distinct affinity between the art work and the music and somehow the same feeling is echoed in your portrait. A very rewarding post indeed.

  10. Very cool! His apron seems to express him. Have missed your blogs!

  11. I like it. Says a lot about the guy – how he looks at you, how he holds himself, etc.. And of course it’s very well executed.

  12. I thought this was a stunningly beautiful, striking portrait when I first opened the blog post but now knowing it is your son I love it even more. The artist mother paints the artist son. I love that.

  13. good stuff here, Elena! Actually I see also a portrait of a proud mother !

  14. Another beautiful pai ting, Amazing! Nice to see you back, I miss seeing your work.

    • Hi Isabel! Just been to your new website. It’s really lovely, but couldn’t leave any comments. Got to tell you that the olive oil still life for one, caught my eye.

  15. An amazing piece of work Elena!

  16. Well the apple didn’t fall far from the bountiful tree! Delightful portrait, and as a word person, I have to say that I love how you’ve titled Julian’s portrait. Brilliant *and* fun…Brava Elena-:)

    • Thank you, Susan! I’m not so much a word person, so I am very pleased by your comment:)I’ve hunted before, but I’m unable to click to your blog via your blog icon (your lovely pic). I know it’s out there. I’ll find it again soon one day.

  17. Elena, I know I have missed you on WordPress but I’m glad we can “see” each other on Facebook! I love your paintings! Are you doing more photography than painting these days?

    • Hi Patsy! Yes, I’m pleased to be able to visit you on FB. Just had a chance to catch up on your blog. You finished your book! Congrats!

      • I am too! I love your photography! You had me wondering if you are still painting! 🙂 And thank you. I guess I finished the rough draft. Some of the colors didn’t turn out like I wanted so I may redo or darken some of the pictures that came out too light. But yes, it is finished…for now! 😉

  18. This is a gorgeous portrait. Looking forward to seeing what else you’ve been up to.

  19. So good to see you back, Elena. I look forward to the rest of your insightful portraits

  20. Wonderful to see you again, Elena, and your art is as engaging as ever. This portrait is fantastic.

    • Many thanks. I haven’t had much time to participate in the blogging world, and I’m so pleased to be able to see what my blogging friends are doing. Your posts continue to be wonderful. A joy to read.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

