ART

Alla Prima Process

Alla prima paintings are completed in one sitting.  When I paint a portrait this way, I draw with my brush, minding the spacial relationships between features.  Next, I lay in the darks using full color, to support the forms of the face.  The midtones, the lights and their transitions blend into the previous wet passages to complete a loosely painted portrait.  This one layer painting allows me to break from the confines of too much detail and preserves the energy captured at the very start of a painting.

12″ x 12″ Oil on Linen

Comments on: "Alla Prima Process" (36)

  1. thank you! I love life seeing (and recital about) you’re originative process.

  2. Matt Harvey said:

    great painting!

  3. Really impressive – love the looseness and the bumps and scrapes of life.

  4. Very impressive! I don’t think I ever finished a portrait in one sitting

  5. I love seeing (and reading about) you’re creative process. Always glad to see you’re ‘still at it’. You’re inspiring! :^)

  6. Thanks for sharing your process, Elena! This is lovely work and very interesting to me since I am learning portraiture myself! You are plainly a very experienced and accomplished artist 🙂

  7. Fascinating to see the development of this painting – you really have kept the sense of a fleeting moment captured.

  8. A little insight into your technique – knowing the process makes me appreciate the product even more.

  9. Beautiful portrait

  10. thanks for sharing your amazing talent and the various processes
    that produce this incredible image

  11. A lovely capture

  12. Exceptional. Wish I had a tenth of your talent.

  13. Incredible work Elena!

  14. vanglo48 said:

    Thanks for the info on alla prima painting. Always makes a piece more intersting knowing what goes on in the mind of the artist and your plan as you paint. Technique. Technique. You’ve got it down. I think children are more difficult to draw/paint. You have captured the moment.

  15. Great portrait. Thanks for sharing details of your process.

  16. It’s fun receiving such a bonanza of your work! (It’s so good.)

  17. thank you too for sharing your process behind this beautiful lively portrait.

  18. Yes, you are Leonardo’s student! I love how you capture facial expressions. Exquisite!

    • Oh to be Leonardo’s student! Carol, a long while back you requested a progress post with a young person as subject. If you still have a need/desire, you are welcome to this one. Thanks so much for your continued support:)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

