ART

Beyond Barriers

Sketchbook Project 2013     Graphite

No matter what sort of beyond, there are intriguing spaces to travel.  Unfortunately, there may be limitations.  Some places are dangerous, ill advised, some not yet possible.  But, the mind’s eye can lead you… anywhere.  Where do you want to go?

Comments on: "Beyond Barriers" (20)

  1. I like the multiple level I see in this image! Fishes and humans…hmmm what a combination!
    robert

  2. I have always struggled with graphite, it just doesn’t look the way I want it to. This is both intriguing and beautiful.

    • Thanks Sophy. I know what you mean, that’s one of the reasons I made myself use graphite. I see so many gorgeous pencil drawings and decided that good or bad technique, I was gonna give it its a workout;)

  3. A lovely sketch. Very enigmatic.

  4. Yes, what’s with the fish! Actually, aside from being symbolic for a host of religious and non-religious things, they come in such a wonderful variety with the potential for a lot of personality. Yours have a lot of personality, and the two big ones here are so wonderfully 3-dimensional and just a bit odd, which is great! I love the girl in the hammock and her little toes. She seems deep in thought.

  5. Escher? Is that you? Reincarnation?

  6. I like your initial thesis, but I’m particularly intrigued by the repeated use of fish in your drawings. Is there an element of symbolism I’ve not identified? Is the fish world a metaphor?

    • Thank you! You’ve raised the very question that I’ve been asking myself. I just don’t know! I expect it will come to me in due time.

  7. What a wonderful drawing. So many dimensions, so little time…
    I like where you are headed 😉

  8. Beautifully done… I love too your drawings. Thank you dear Elena, love, nia

  9. Great design, Elena! I wish all the best. Big hugs! 🙂

  10. I’m really enjoying your pencil (graphite) works. I personally am trying to get back to Earth 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

