ART

Descent

bstars copy

 

I’m having loads of fun with these old photo inspired paintings.  They provide an emotional connection and a place to begin.  I’m allowing myself the freedom to take great liberties with the faces and figures.  Unlike  portraiture, I m borrowing only what I’m interested in exploring and filling in the rest anyway I like.  It’s a bit like genetics and traditions. Genetics because of the chance factors in unplanned watercolor and traditions because we can choose to uphold them,modify them or create our own.

For the purpose of continuity, I’ll be referring to this improvisational series of sketches as the “Descent”series”.  I’ll post them intermittently and in no particular order, certainly not in descending order.  I’ll be jumping back and forth through time.

Comments on: "Descent" (44)

  1. I love this style Elena. You are such a talent. I’ve been away too long and will have to catch up on your posts.

  2. What a wonderful celebration of the past!

  3. A particular favorite of mine, this one. Lovely! 🙂
    xo

  4. Ştefania said:

    Still a very nice sketch, dear Elena. Impressed me the inspiration and process the careil use!
    Thank you for sharing! Big hugs, Stefania! 🙂

  5. I appreciate hearing about your artistic process; as an artist it is inspiring.

  6. Love the idea of this series. Fab.

  7. Amazing work, Elena 🙂

  8. I love how the mood changes in your artworks,stunning !

    • It does. Each image that I “riff” on is selected because it pulls something different from me just by looking at it. Thanks so much for your lovely support:)

  9. I just find it so inspiring that a person with all your talents can still find new challenges. So many great ideas rolled into one. 😀

  10. Such a lovely warm feel to this, very nostalgic, just beautiful….

  11. Beautiful composition. Delicate soft colours are very atmospheric.

  12. The only genetics I see is you and the elements cooperating harmoniously! Brilliant, Elena! 🙂

  13. poppytump said:

    Ah …I love how you describe your approach to your new series Elena ..
    How can such lovely bold colourful brush strokes be so *delicate at the same time …..
    Gorgeous .

  14. Fascinating idea for a series – the paintings seem loose on the page and full of life. It’s like really recapturing the past.

  15. What most amazes me is, what you said unplanned chance factor = water color flows and runs where you wanted, this magic !

  16. Jane Thorne said:

    I love the feeling of joyful movement you have captured Elena. Xx

  17. The diaphanous nature of this series makes me experience these as fleeting memories, glimpses, fading in and out… Brilliant.

  18. Enchanting as every Elena!

  19. Love this approach! Can’t wait for more of the series. Will you ever show the photograph that inspired the painting? Would love to see how it all started!

  20. Like the time machine only through your brush! I like this painting, reminds me of photographs of my grandmother whom I never met.

  21. Nice. Can’t wait for the “Ascent series”.

  22. Elena, I know I have laready told you but yet again, I just love every single paint of yours!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

