ART

Pause #20

Editing.  Culling.  Selecting-  I’m curious: If you were to choose three of the strongest images to best represent contrasting nuances of expression, which would you choose?  OR  which of this grouping is the strongest image?  For the Pause Series.

Comments on: "Pause #20" (29)

  1. Editing down is always hard and painful, but I think it’s a good idea to bring it out here to get other’s opinion. Personally I think they are all very strong images in their own right, but my favourite is either the last one or the third from the bottom. The last one has something of David about it or maybe just a classical face, while I really like the way the mouth has been distorted in the third from the bottom. Some of the other distortions seem a little brutal. But again I like the whole series. In the end you will have to go with your heart and gut feeling – of course.

  2. OH gosh this is soooo hard as I like so many of them!

    Okay here goes… but remember that tomorrow I may pick different ones !!

    6th and 7th and 12th.. oh and 8th from the top is very interesting too.. and strong

    • Thanks Helen. That’s the problem I’m having as well. One day I feel strongly about one, the next, I question it. I’ll let all of you kind contributors know if there is a consensus.

  3. Too much good stuff to choose from.

  4. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    I would go with #8. I love them all, though! The muted palette is so gorgeous!

  5. artblablablablog said:

    I’m liking the last one the best, the tilt is good.

  6. I like No. 12 as a strong image.

  7. Smack in the middle, number 8, reminds me of Elvis and also of Renaissance Italian pain…Caravaggio or something.

  8. Oh my, so many wonderfully evocative images!
    I find the fourth one from the bottom very gentle and tender but it also has a bit of a “scar” which makes it quite stirring.

    The 6th one down is like a crown of thorns, so interesting.
    The range of emotions is incredible.

    • Thank you Karen! All of you wonderful artists are not only helping me to clarify what I’m seeing, but offering insights that are quite valuable. I will take your suggestions to heart.

  9. Thats a hard one to pick, they are all so expressive!

  10. Right, three favourites. I would pick no 1 as representing the norm, it is gentle and soft focus but has that shard coming in from the left to unsettle; I like the “crown of thorns ” one,no. 6, it may be an accidental association but it works; and my third to represent the best deformation, I like no.13 . This one is in some mental agony! Some of the deformations go too far for me i.e. when they look painfully scarred, eg 3,5 and 11.
    Fascinating stuff, Elena.

    • David, I so very much appreciate your thoughtful/excellent input. I’m still exploring this series, but I’m beginning to be bogged down with keeping the focus clean, and not meandering. Comments like yours, from artists I really respect, are invaluable. Thank you!

  11. You did a very interesting series, I found it so creative dear Elena. I thought of this too, how it would be if they were in B&W too… Have you tried it… Thank you, with my love, nia

  12. Jane Thorne said:

    Hiya Elena … fourth up from the bottom..that’s the one that strikes me as the strongest visual…love to you x

  13. I’m thinking the seventh one from the top, or further down, the one with the elongated/smeared mouth/chin

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

