Reflection On Reflections:A Collaboration

                                                                                               ©Karen McRae, 2012

Gifted artist/photographer Karen McRae  honored me with an exciting opportunity to collaborate. She offered two beautiful photographs (above) of abstract water reflections to change, embellish or transform in any way I chose. A gift like this is extremely exciting! Because I am so in awe of Karen’s work, I did not want to interfere with the images too much. I knew right away that I wanted to maintain much of the structure and color. In fact I did not introduce any new color, and used only what I found within the images. I worked digitally in layers directly over Karen’s work, not touching the original but taking my cues from it.

Each photograph presents its own special charm. After turning it on its side, the negative space in the “frog” piece spoke to me immediately of dreamy water creatures in motion and rippling below the surface.

The “figure” piece was quite the opposite.  It was its fluid line and dynamic composition that captured my attention. The swirls appeared to me as smokey figures frozen in perilous escape. The smoke alternately dissipates and collects, providing just enough presence to tell its story.

I’m a great admirer of Karen’s superlative work. You will be too when you link to her blog here-Enjoy!   Thanks for thinking of me Karen!

Artist’s Statement:

Caravela/McRae’s work investigates the nuances of modulations through the use of slow motion and close-ups which emphasize the Symbiotic nature of digital media. Caravela/McRae explores abstract and shaping scenery as motifs to describe the idea of infinite space. Using water loops, non-linear narratives, and allegorical images as patterns, Caravela/McRae creates meditative environments which suggest the expansion of space…

Elena Caravela & Karen McRae, 2012

 

Published by elenacaravela

My world is a wonder of visual candy and foreboding shadow shapes vying every waking moment for my full attention.

Join the Conversation

42 Comments

    1. Terrific question Karen! The answer is no. I’ve never drawn over my photos. I have incorporated them into digital paintings, and I have draw over discarded paper and collage, but this is a first!

  1. Congratulations, Eleanor dear, for your collaboration with, Karen McRae! Much luck!
    Your paintings are lovely! Thank you for sharing.
    Hope you have a wonderful day! Big hugs, much love, Stefania! 🙂

  2. Love what you’ve done here with Karen’s work. Her images are so exquisite..and you’ve made magic out of them. Gorgeous!