ART

Watercolor Wednesday

bsuspiciousbirds

Suspicious birds.

Comments on: "Watercolor Wednesday" (79)

  1. Mike Schultz Paintings said:

    Striking colors on this one, Elena!

  2. poppytump said:

    yes definitely suspicious .
    I don’t think I would want to go too close .
    Love the touch of orange wake up splash of colour πŸ˜‰

  3. I love this one in every way. You make me want to paint again!

  4. Stefania said:

    Very very beautiful painting, I love it!
    Β  I repeat: you are very talented, dear Elena! Congratulations!
    Big hugs, much love, Stefania! πŸ™‚

  5. Beautiful! They do look a little annoyed that you are painting them though!

  6. Again you amaze me by your brilliance in reaching past the obvious and giving us a taste for your wonderful creativity!

  7. Jane Thorne said:

    Elena, I love the vibrancy that is coming through your watercolour work – your instinct was ‘spot on’ to follow this course. Jane xx

  8. Very nice…love your use of color.

  9. Elena, I learn so much about color from you. Your creativity knows no bounds. Through your eyes the world is twice as pretty!

    Do you ever sketch/paint outside? Are there any materials you recommend to make this easier?

    • Hi Marian, you as so kind. I rarely to tell you the truth, work outside. But we have a large bird feeder right outside our kitchen window. It allows me to sketch and take photos of the birds, so I’m becoming very familiar with their forms and color. Their grace and contrasting behavior keeps me forever on the watch and I remain fascinated. Materials for watercolor are tubes of all sorts of lower priced brand names, but in pretty large variety of color. I’m partial to two brushes and they are synthetic. I do prefer cold press rough paper. Whatever is on sale. For me, using less expensive material allows me to experiment and rip apart for collage at least one third of my efforts, so I’m experimenting all the time. No pressure makes for lots of fun and quicker progress, I think. I’m not a watercolorist at all. I’ve been wary of the medium for most of my life, but decided a little over a year ago to make it my own. Now I just do it my own way. I found that drawing first in pencil makes me nutty, so I just go for it in color. There is a great Utube video of Charles Reid. Sorry, don’t have the link, but search for it, it will inspire. Also I enjoy the loose watercolors of Snoring Dog studio. There is a comment just below to take you there. Anyhow, that’s how I got inspired to paint watercolor on my terms-sloppy, drippy, throwing all expectation to the wind! It will become what it wants to be. BTW I love your watercolors!

      • Thank you so much, Elena, for your quick response. Your kitchen window sounds amazing with ever-changing art scenes. How lucky to sketch the outdoors from the warmth of your home. I appreciate your tips on papers & materials. I will follow up by finding the video. I love your “sloppy, drippy, throwing expectation to the wind” approach. But, I must confess that I feel more confident if I draw first, then paint. But, that being said, in my dreams I paint like you! πŸ™‚ Marian

  10. Snoring Dog Studio said:

    Magnificent!

  11. Such talent, m’lady. Stunning, as always.

    Ever had anyone so intrigued by your watercolors, in hopes of tattooing the “most perfect” watercolor figure on their skin? That’s me!
    These birds are cool! The one “suspicious” bird is my favorite, of course. His deep yellow eye is key, here. I love it, Elena.

  12. Beautiful, delicate, gorgeous! πŸ™‚

  13. Ooo…he looks like a grumpy old man…suspiciously so πŸ˜‰

  14. Elena, this is fabulous! You capture the essence of the form of the birds so beautifully, and the composition is just great, works perfectly.

  15. lol…I really love the shades you’ve used.

  16. Oh, this is just beautiful. The colors are exquisite and I love the dogged determination on the bird’s face. My favorite painting so far!

  17. Brilliant little characters – beautiful painting (of course)!

  18. what a spendor, marvelous colors. I have just bought phtalo turquoise just for the pleasure….. πŸ˜‰

  19. Wicked cool! I love the colors!

  20. Avian surveillance team. They are beautiful, though! What characters.

  21. The contrast of colors is great! I’m wondering what those birds are up to.

  22. bird mafia! awesome. πŸ˜€

  23. What a difference a splash of colour makes!!

  24. Dear Elena I loved this so much, you are amazing. Thanks and Love, nia

  25. Lovely! Great colors.

  26. Stupenda!!! Love it!!! πŸ™‚

  27. Great painting Elena. You captured their suspicious nature perfectly.

  28. Terry Meier said:

    This is so pretty, the colors are great, bright and happy especially with the dreary day yesterday. See you soon. xo Terry

  29. Hats off to you!
    I also love the evil look (eyes) of these, for me, wicked birds.

  30. mysending said:

    How you got so much personality into this is amazing!

  31. I like their evil eyes. Ha ha ha πŸ˜€

  32. Gorgeous blues. Mother looks serious πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

