ART

Call For Writers

I had a very loose idea for a middle grade novel, about a young teen who does her best thinking under water.  So, I did what comes most natural to me, and created some narrative images.  The words however, aren’t coming.

I though it might be fun to invite all you writers out there (if the spirit moves you), to write your own paragraph/short story about what’s happening in the images.

It could be a fantasy story about the character’s ability to survive under the sea. It could be a short inner dialog.  It could be nothing of the sort.  I’d be fascinated to read whatever you talented writers can come up with.  I’ll post all stories with links to work that’s kid friendly:)

Comments on: "Call For Writers" (31)

  1. brandytodt said:

    Your images are provoking, mysterious and stunning. I love how you have used the watercolor here. I also like how you have done the rough sketches or illustrations for a short story with a theme you had in mind but have opened the text up to others. Very creative. 🙂

  2. These really are evocative and mysterious!

    Ok I wrote a novella. Just gonna email it. 😉

  3. This is a great idea, and I hope you get a lot of input for your call. The water colours are beautiful. I love the colours and the way you work with water colours. And they do tell a little story by themselves.

  4. I was instantly inspired when I read your line “a young teen who does her best thinking under water”…It may take me some time, but I will definitely be writing a piece with that as the theme. Your images are amazingly beautiful as always, so I will have them by me as I write.

  5. Britta-Karin Engberg said:

    Lovely pictures. I think these are very well executed watercolours!

  6. That should be titled “Sea Sense” Elena

  7. simply brilliant Elena.. the colours, the movement, the stillness.

  8. Ooooh! I think I may have an idea. Definitely inspiring.

  9. Just gorgeous! I love the idea, I wish I was a writer so I contribute.

  10. Boy are you lucky I have two blogs.. Here’s my Zen version:
    Girl sitting by lake
    Falls in
    Floats to the top
    Gets out, realizing nothing really happened.
    Hansi

  11. A teenage girl, rejected by all her peers for being a little “too intelligent”, sits by a lake pondering her lot in life. She accidentally falls in, and being unable to swim, quickly sinks to the bottom and nearly drowns. She is save by all the fishes, who think she’s the awaited messiah who will save Aqua-land, and restore it to it’s former glory before all them evil no-good Dry-landers took over. Well sure enough, she’s revived, imbued with super powers, and, as illustrated in your last painting, emerges from the waters and starts to reek destruction upon the Earth.

  12. Jane Thorne said:

    Oh Elena, what images and the colour and movement in them…if creativity with the written word strikes, then I’ll come back to you xx

  13. These are amazing – so inspiring and evocative. You’ve now got me thinking about a story I might write. Beautiful work!!!

  14. Littleskew said:

    These are amazing! So so beautiful. I hope a wonderful writer finds you

  15. Oh wow! Wishing I was a writer, these images are stunningly beautiful. I think you’ve perfected watercolour, Elena!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

